Seth Avett and Jessica Lea Mayfield Announce Elliott Smith Cover Album


Videos by American Songwriter

Happy New Year indeed: Seth Avett and Jessica Lea Mayfield just announced the upcoming release of Seth Avett & Jessica Lea Mayfield Cover Elliott Smith,  a 12-track cover album of – you guessed it – the works of the late Elliott Smith. The album, self-produced by Avett, features covers of some of Smith’s best songs, including “Between the Bars,” “Ballad of Big Nothing” and “Angeles.” Avett and Mayfield started the project in 2011 and have continued to work on it intermittently over the last three years from hotel rooms, studios and their own homes. The two released a promo video documenting the recording process, which also features previews of a few tracks.

“For Jessica and I it’s just a question of loving the songs and genuinely loving singing them,” says Avett. “Even if the topics are dark sometimes, there’s still a joy to singing them.”

Even more good news: Avett and Mayfield announced an upcoming tour in support of the record, though dates have yet to be revealed.

Seth Avett & Jessica Lea Mayfield Cover Elliott Smith drops March 17 on Ramseur Records. Check out Avett and Mayfield’s promo video below.

Track listing:
1. Between the Bars
2. Baby Britain
3. Fond Farewell
4. Somebody That I Used to Know
5. Let’s Get Lost
6. Twilight
7. Ballad of Big Nothing
8. Angel in the snow
9. Pitseleh
10. Angeles
11. Roman Candle
12. Memory Lane

Leave a Reply

Daily Discovery: Lara Landon, “I Don’t Want To Need You”