Strand of Oaks Readies Hard Love for January Release

Photo courtesy of the artist
Photo courtesy of the artist

Strand of Oaks, the project of songwriter and musician Tim Showalter, just announced Hard Love, a new album due out February 17 via Dead Oceans. For his fifth studio album under the Strand of Oaks moniker, Showalter recruited producer Nicolas Vernhes and guitarist Jason Anderson. In announcing the album, Showalter describes the project as an effort “to bring back the raw, impulsive nature that is the DNA of so many records [he] love[s].”

Videos by American Songwriter

“Some records are built like monuments, set in stone,” Showalter adds in the statement. “I want this record to be burned in effigy, in celebration of the limited time we have on this earth.”

Hard Love follows the Philadelphia-based artist’s 2014 album HEAL, which earned acclaim from outlets like NPR, Grantland and the AV Club. We gave it four out of five stars, calling it “special kind of album that can serve as a temporary buffer for others.”

Watch the official video for Hard Love lead single “Radio Kids” and see the album track list below. Check out 2016-2017 Strand of Oaks tour dates here.

1. Hard Love
2. Radio Kids
3. Everything
4. Salt Brothers
5. On The Hill
6. Cry
7. Rest Of It
8. Quit It
9. Taking Acid and Talking To My Brother

Recording Academy Urges Trump To Support Copyright Reform