Stream John Singer Sergeant’s New Album Featuring Rhett Miller, Ben Kweller and More

Videos by American Songwriter

 Photo Credit: Branton Ellerbee

 The Music and Words of John Dufilho, Apples In Stereo drummer/Deathray Davies frontman John Dufhilho’s latest album under the moniker John Singer Sergeant, is out today via Kirtland Records.

The ambitious new disc features guest vocals from Rhett Miller, Ben Kweller, Sarah Jaffe, Kool and the Gang’s Sir Earl Toon, and many more. Stream the entire album below, and buy yourself a copy here.

“I love recording,” Dufhilho tells American Songwriter. “I could lock myself in a studio, not come out for months, and be happy. I’ve made some friends when I’m outside – really talented people.

Fortunately I’ve discovered that most musicians are generous. It’s amazing what people will do if you just ask. This applies to most things in life.

Although I sing all the time, I don’t really consider myself a singer. I write songs, I play a few instruments. I was curious: What would they sound like with friends of mine singing them? Would anyone want to? Do I have any business playing and recording instruments that I really don’t know how to play? Do I care?

The answers, so far – I’ve found to be: Good, yes, yes, and no.”

John Singer Sergeant: The Music and Words of John Dufilho Track listing

1. Big Distortion sung by Will Johnson
2. Mountains, Oceans, Elephants sung by Ben Kweller
3. Jinxed sung by Robert Schneider
4. Dizzy Joy sung by Sir Earl Toon
5. My Own Worst Critic sung by Rhett Miller
6. Married To The Sea sung by Marcus Striplin & Sarah Jaffe
7. Birdy Num Num sung by Danette Dufilho & Letty Gomez
8. Why Does Your Moog Effect Me So? Sung by Brandon Carr & Dylan Silvers
9. Kick Your Feet Up High (Kid’s Song) sung by CJ Davis
10. Lazy Days Are Good sung by Erik Sanden
11. Crooked Teeth Like A Broken Piano sung by Salim Nourallah
12. Gone In A Second sung by Tony Miller, Sarah Jaffe & Spyche
13. Normal Sounds Weird sung by Chris Walla & Rachel Demy
14. It’s Hard To Run Uphill On Stilts sung by Spyche

Tour Dates:

May 4 Austin, TX @ Parish with Sarah Jaffe
May 5 Dallas, TX @ Granada Theatre with Sarah Jaffe
May 26 Dallas, TX @ Homegrown Festival


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Lollapalooza Lineup Boasts Black Sabbath, Black Keys, Red Hot Chili Peppers