Sturgill Simpson, Lucinda Williams Win Big at Americana Honors & Awards

AMA 2015
Photo courtesy of Americana Association.

Last night’s Americana Honors & Awards at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium was a star-studded, performance-packed affair, with some of the biggest names in Americana music taking home the community’s biggest honors. AS favorite Sturgill Simpson earned both the Artist of the Year and Song of the Year (“Turtles All the Way Down”) titles, while Lucinda Williams‘ latest offering Down Where the Spirit Meets the Bone was named Album of the Year. Other notable awards include Buffy Sainte-Marie’s Spirit of Americana/Free Speech in Music win and Shakey Graves’ crowning as Emerging Aritst of the Year.

Videos by American Songwriter

Performers included Houndmouth, Dave Rawlings, Ricky Skaggs, Shakey Graves, Jason Isbell, the Mavericks, Lucinda Williams, Lee Ann Womack and many more.

A full list of winners is below.


Americana Music Honors & Awards 2015 Winners:
Album of the Year: Down Where The Spirit Meets The Bone, Lucinda Williams, Produced by Lucinda Williams, Tom Overby and Greg Leisz
Artist of the Year: Sturgill Simpson
Duo Group of the Year: The Mavericks
Song of the Year: “Turtles All The Way Down” Written by Sturgill Simpson
Emerging Artist of the Year: Shakey Graves
Instrumentalist of the Year: John Leventhal
Spirit of Americana/Free Speech in Music Award co-presented by the Americana Music Association and the First Amendment Center: Buffy Sainte-Marie
Lifetime Achievement Award, Trailblazer: Don Henley
The Lifetime Achievement Award, Songwriting: Gillian Welch & David Rawlings
Lifetime Achievement Award, Instrumentalist: Ricky Skaggs
Lifetime Achievement Award, Performance: Los Lobos
President’s Award: BB King

Leave a Reply

Ryan Adams Reveals 1989 Release Date, Cover Art