Taylor Swift, Toby Keith, and Wynn Varble Win Big at NSAI Awards

Videos by American Songwriter


The Nashville Songwriters Association International celebrated the cream of the crop in country songwriting talent last night, dubbing Taylor Swift Songwriter/Artist of the Year and Toby Keith Songwriter/Artist of the Decade.  Wynn Varble was awarded Songwriter of the Year. Varble co-wrote Song of the Year winner “Waitin’ On A Woman,” a hit for Brad Paisley, with Don Sampson.

“I’m fascinated by relationships and love and boys and the prospect of a happy ending, and completely analyzing it when I don’t experience a happy ending,” said a beaming Swift. “That’s my number one inspiration when writing. I’ve always left the traveling aspect — the planes, trains and automobiles aspect of my life — out of my songwriting, because I remember when I was younger and I heard those kinds of songs, I just couldn’t really relate to it that much. … I try to stick to feelings and emotions and that’s where I write from.”

Toby Keith also offered up some insight: “I’ll write 20 or 30 songs a year and then go record them, and I live off the results. If they’re not great results … then that’s what I live with. If they’re great, then fantastic and I live with that. I put out what I produce, so whatever my crop is, whatever horses we raise in my stable is what we run with.”

Here’s the full list of the Nashville Songwriters Association International annual Songwriter Achievement Award winners.

Song of the Year

“Waitin’ On A Woman,” by Don Sampson and Wynn Varble

Songwriter of the Year

Wynn Varble

Songwriter/artist of the year

Taylor Swift

Songwriter/artist of the Decade (2000–2009)

Toby Keith

Songwriter of the Decade (2000–2009)

Craig Wiseman

NSAI Professional Songwriters Division’s Awards (“The Songs I Wish I’d Written”)

“Down The Road” (Mac McAnally, recorded by Kenny Chesney & Mac McAnally)

“Everybody Wants To Go To Heaven” (Jim Collins, Marty Dodson, recorded by Kenny Chesney)

“I Told You So” (Randy Travis, recorded by Carrie Underwood)

“In Color” (Jamey Johnson, Lee Thomas Miller, James Otto, recorded by Jamey Johnson)

“Johnny & June” (Deanna Bryant, Heidi Newfield, Stephony Smith, recorded by Heidi Newfield)

“Last Call” (Erin Enderlin, Shane McAnally, recorded by Lee Ann Womack)

“People Are Crazy” (Bobby Braddock, Troy Jones, recorded by Billy Currington)

“Troubadour” (Monty Holmes, Leslie Satcher, recorded by George Strait)

“Waitin’ On A Woman” (Don Sampson, Wynn Varble, recorded by Brad Paisley)

“What Hurts The Most” (Steve Robson, Jeffrey Steele, recorded by Cascada)

Leave a Reply

Great Quotations: Chris Daughtry