The Civil Wars Release New Single, Album Details

When Joy Williams and John Paul White of indie-folk duo The Civil Wars cancelled all of their remaining tour dates last November, they left fans with the promise of new music to come in 2013. Now, seven months later, they’re holding true to their word with the release of the first single from their upcoming self-titled album, which drops August 6.

Videos by American Songwriter

The single, titled “The One That Got Away,” feels reminiscent of their 2011 Grammy-award-winning debut Barton Hollow, but the question remains whether this album is proof of the band’s reconciliation or an omen of its demise. The lyrics “I wish you were the one that got away,” and the background image of smoke rising from an explosion in the song’s streaming video could certainly be interpreted as the latter, for those who wish to read that far into it.

The Civil Wars originally announced a summer hiatus when Williams gave birth to her first son, Miles Alexander, last June. Then on November 6, the band announced via their website that they would be canceling all remaining tour dates due to “Internal Discord And Irreconcilable Differences Of Ambition.”

White and Williams each released a personal statement about the upcoming release.

White: “Patience is a virtue. Yours has been appreciated. Here’s to the hope you consider it rewarded.”

Williams: “If you are reading this, I want to thank you for taking the time. I’m grateful for your patient support. I am very glad to say that new music is coming and I am fiercely proud of this album. A lot of soul, sweat and tears went into its creation. I hope you feel the heart in each song, that it might connect with yours. We are, each one of us, all journeying, learning and growing along this ever-evolving path. Hope this note finds you all well, wherever you are…”

The duo also released the track listing for the new album, and here’s hoping that it wont be their last.

The Civil Wars Tracklisting:

1. The One That Got Away
2. I Had Me a Girl
3. Same Old Same Old
4. Dust to Dust
5. Eavesdrop
6. Devil’s Backbone
7. From This Valley
8. Tell Mama
9. Oh Henry
10. Disarm
11. Sacred Heart
12. D’Arline


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Newport Folk Festival Heads “Way Over Yonder”