Tom Waits, Bob Seger, Elvis Costello Lead Songwriters Hall of Fame Nominees

Videos by American Songwriter

The Songwriters Hall of Fame has announced the nominees for the 2012 class.

It’s an all-star list — Tom Waits, Lou Reed, Pete Townshend, Elvis Costello, George Michael, Dion DeMucci, Deborah Harry and Chris Stein of Blondie, Bob Seger, Eurythmics’ Annie Lennox and Dave Stewart, and Gordon Lightfoot have all been nominated as performing songwriters. Non-performing songwriters up for election include P.F. Sloan and Steve Barri (“Eve Of Destruction”), Chips Moman (“Do Right Woman, Do Right Man”), and Don Schlitz (“The Gambler”).

Voting will end on December 12. The 2012 Annual Awards Gala will be held at the New York Marriott Marquis on Thursday, June 14th. Click here to listen to the Songwriters Hall of Fame online Radio Station, which is spinning music by all the nominees.


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Rich Robinson: The AS Twitterview