Watch Joseph Arthur & Jeff Ament Perform “If I Needed You” for Sweet Relief

joseph arthur rs

Videos by American Songwriter

It’s been twenty years since musicians including Lou Reed, Lucinda Williams and Pearl Jam first rallied together to record Sweet Relief: A Benefit for Victoria Williams. The album, a fundraising benefit effort for, as the name suggests, Victoria Williams after her diagnosis with MS, soon evolved into the Sweet Relief Musicians Fund, a full-fledged charity benefiting any and all musicians struggling with financial, health or age based issues.  Focusing on the work of quadriplegic artist Vic Chetnutt, the organization released the follow-up Sweet Relief II: Gravity of the Situation in 1996 to widespread international interest.

For their third compilation, Pennies From Heaven, the group has recruited the likes of Ben Harper, Jackson Browne, She & Him and Joseph Arthur, all of whom choose songs with themes of support and assistance (“How Did You Find Me Here?”, “With A Little Help From My Friends”). In anticipation of the September 3rd release date,  Arthur, who recently finished his tenth studio album, The Ballad of Boogie Christ, performed a stripped down version of “If I Needed You” with accompaniment from Pearl Jam guitarist Jeff Ament.

Watch the Joseph Arthur performance and check out the track list for Sweet Relief III: Pennies From Heaven below.

1. “Pennies From Heaven” – Ron Sexsmith               
2. “Brother Where Are You” – Shelby Lynne
3. “Big Spender” – Sam Phillips
4. “How Did You Find Me Here” – k.d. lang
5. “Crazy Love” – Ben Harper
6. “Heart of Gold” – Genevieve Toupin
7. “If I Needed You” – Joseph Arthur
8. “Surfer Girl” – Rickie Lee Jones
9. “With A Little Help From My Friends” – Tina Schlieske
10. “Change Is Gonna Come” – Victoria Williams
11. “King of the Road” – She & Him
12. “I’ll Be Home” – Eleni Mandell
13. “Don’t Let Us Get Sick” – Jackson Browne

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Not An Ordinary Open Mic Night