Durand Jones & The Indications Share Eye-Opening Video For “Morning in America”

“The lyrics speak to how many of us feel every day in this time of political and environmental uncertainty," the band said.

Photo by Rosie Cohe

On March 1, Durand Jones & The Indications will release its sophomore album, American Love Call. In advance of the album’s release, the group has shared the video for its new single “Morning in America.” The band calls the tune “a song for this moment.”

“The lyrics speak to how many of us feel every day in this time of political and environmental uncertainty— flitting between anger, despair, anxiety but ever returning to a sliver of hope that there’s still a path forward,” the group said in a statement. “We so often divide ourselves by our differences. Acknowledging those differences is crucial; listening to those different from us is crucial. But viewed solely through that lens, we are fragmented and few. When we look at the country along economic lines, however, a different picture emerges. Suddenly people of all colors, in every part of this country, can find themselves on the same side, united by a shared struggle to simply survive in the richest nation to ever exist.”

For the video, director Ellie Foumbi sought to bring the song’s message to life. “It’s impossible to hear this song and not connect its message to the current political climate in America,” she says. “It makes you stop and question the ways in which our country has changed and whether we’re as far along as we should be.”

Watch the video for “Morning in America” and find the band’s upcoming tour dates below.

Durand Jones & The Indications’ Tour Dates (new dates in bold):

Tue. Jan. 22 – London, UK @ Dingwalls
Wed. Jan. 23 – Paris, FR @ La Maroquinerie
Fri. Jan. 25 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso-Noord
Sun. Jan. 27 – Cologne, DE @ Artheater
Mon. Jan. 28 – Berlin, DE @ Lido
Mon. March 18 – Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall
Tue. March 19 – Dallas, TX @ Club Dada
Thu. March 21 – Santa Fe, NM @ Tumbleroots
Fri. March 22 – Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom
Sat. March 23 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah — SOLD OUT
Mon. March 25 – Tustin, CA @ Marty’s On Newport — SOLD OUT
Tue. March 26 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom — SOLD OUT
Wed. March 27 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom — SOLD OUT
Thu. March 28 – Santa Barbara, CA @ SOhO Restaurant & Music Club
Fri. March 29 – Oakland, CA @ The New Parish — SOLD OUT
Sat. March 30 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent — SOLD OUT
Mon. April 1 – Portland, OR @ Wonder Ballroom
Tue. April 2 – Seattle, WA @ Neumos
Thu. April 4 – Salt Lake City, UT @ The State Room
Fri. April 5 – Denver, CO @ Bluebird Theater
Sat. April 6 – Kansas City, MO @ recordBar
Sun. April 7 – Omaha, NE @ The Waiting Room
Tue. April 9 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry
Wed. April 10 – Madison, WI @ High Noon Saloon
Thu. April 11 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall
Fri. April 12 – Columbus, OH @ A&R Music Bar
Sat. April 13 – Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle
Sun. April 14 – North Charleston, SC @ High Water Festival
Tue. April 16 – Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel
Wed. April 17 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
Fri. April 19 – Philadelphia, PA @ First Unitarian Church
Sat. April 20 – Uncasville, CT @ Wolf Den at Mohegan Sun Resort
Sun. April 21 – Boston, MA @ Brighton Music Hall
Mon. April 22 – Baltimore, MD @ Ottobar
Wed. April 24 – Cincinnati, OH @ The Woodward Theater
Fri. April 26 – Nashville, TN @ The Basement East
Sat. April 27 – Oxford, MS @ Double Decker Arts Festival
Sun. April 28 – Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West
Sat. May 11 – Bloomington, IN @ Indiana University w/ Neko Case
Sun. Sep. 15 – Telluride, CO @ Blues & Brews Festival