Alejandro Escovedo Readies New Album, Big Station

Videos by American Songwriter

(Photo: Todd Wolfson)

On June 5, Fantasy Records/Concord Music Group will release Big Station, the 11th solo album from acclaimed Texas singer-songwriter Alejandro Escovedo. The new disc, a followup to Escovedo’s 2010 album Street Songs of Love, was produced by Tony Visconti and largely co-written with fellow songwriter Chuck Prophet (read our recent interview with Prophet, where he discusses their collaborations here). Big Station has a vintage ’60s and ’70s feel, and also features Escovedo’s first ever Spanish-language recording, “Sabor a Mi,” a song that was originally penned in 1959 by  Mexican composer Alvaro Carrillo.

Escovedo recently joined Bruce Springsteen on stage at SXSW for a star-studded performance of Woody Guthrie’s “This Land Is Your Land.” New tour dates are expected to be announced soon.

Big Station Track listing:

1. Man Of The World
2. Big Station
3. Sally Was A Cop
4. Bottom Of The World
5. Can’t Make Me Run
6. San Antonio Rain
7. Headstrong Crazy Fools
8. Common Mistake
9. Never Stood A Chance
10. Party People
11. Too Many Tears
12. Sabor A Mi

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Elise Testone’s Led Zeppelin Cover Earns Her A “Whole Lotta Love” On American Idol