Country Star James Otto Shakes What God Gave Him

Videos by American Songwriter

Hit country artist and new daddy James Otto will return September 14 with a new album Shake What God Gave Ya, the followup to his 2008 sophomore effort, Sunset Man. Otto is known for his blend of country and soul, as previously heard on hits like “Just Got Started Lovin’ You.”

“Musically I’d say I’m the love child between Ronnie Milsap and Barry White,” says Otto. “This sexy, sultry, soulful sound makes you wanna move and dance. And that is exactly what I want fans to do while listening to this album, Shake What God Gave Ya!”

The album features 10 tracks written by Otto, whose music has won him CMA and ACM awards, as well as a Grammy nomination. Shake What God Gave Ya’s lead single “Groovy Little Summer Song” has already charted in the top 25. Also featured is a duet with country-soul legend Ronnie Milsap, one of Otto’s musical heroes and a strong musical influence.

The Washington native is firmly a part of the Nashville scene, recently touring with Toby Keith and Trace Adkins. He is also a co-founder of the Muzik Mafia, a collective dedicated to showcasing up-and-coming country musicians.

Shake What God Gave Ya track listing:

1. Are Ya With Me
2. Groovy Little Summer Song
3. Lover Man
4. Soldiers & Jesus
5. Love Don’t Cost A Thing
6. Sun Comes ‘Round Again
7. Shake What God Gave Ya
8. It’s A Good Time (For A Good Time)
9. Just Like Sunshine
10. Let’s Just Let Go
11. She Comes To Me
12. Good Thing’s Gone Bad featuring Ronnie Milsap


Leave a Reply
  1. September 14th can’t get here fast enough, I love James SO much!!! (big smile)

    God bless you and him always!!!

    Holly in East Tennessee

Leave a Reply

Miranda Lambert Leads 2010 CMA Awards Nominations