Exclusive Premiere: Color Green Release Contemplative Video for Album Highlight “Ball and Key” from ‘Fool’s Parade’

Tomorrow (July 12), the multi-faceted psych quartet Color Green will make their New West Records debut with their sophomore album Fool’s Parade. Today, American Songwriter is proud to premiere the new video for the standout track “Ball and Key.” Check it out below.

Videos by American Songwriter

A group effort, Fool’s Parade serves as a mediation on grief, loss confusion, frustration, and the clarity that can come only after dealing with all of it. Color Green guitarist/vocalist Corey Madden spoke about the nine-track collection in a statement. “We shaped it to showcase our range,” he shared. “All songs were written together as a band. It’s the four of us in a room and it features all of our voices.” Bassist/vocalist Kyla Perlmutter added, “What we come up with together, I don’t think any of us could do by ourselves. The music we make is always surprising me.”

Color Green on “Ball and Key”

Members of Color Green spoke exclusively to American Songwriter about “Ball and Key” and the accompanying video. The song, they said, “Stems from the many mornings or afternoons following the long nights before. A broken 12 string soaked in molasses speaks to the realities of all addictions, but more importantly the love for the ones close to you.” They added, “Light a candle, turn the lights low, and let your mind wander through melodic slide guitars and mellow harmonies.”

The band didn’t just write co-produce and record “Ball and Key” as a unit. They also directed the music video. “The video for ‘Ball and Key’ catches the band on an easy Los Angeles evening in the Angeles National Forest, a point of contemplation for Corey Madden, shared with vignettes of the band along for the ride, showcases Color Green’s genuine spirit and ethos of the group.”

Fool’s Parade Tracklist and Release Info

Fool’s Parade will be available across streaming platforms tomorrow morning. Additionally, the album will be available on CD and standard black vinyl. A limited “Orange Dream” color vinyl edition will be available at independent retailers everywhere. Pre-orders for the album are still available through New West Records.


  1. “Coronado”
  2. “Four Leaf Clover”
  3. “Fool’s Parade”
  4. “When the Clouds Roll In”
  5. “God in a $”
  6. “5:08”
  7. “Kick the Bucket”
  8. “Ball and Key”
  9. “Hazel Eyes”

Featured Image by Nate Kahn

Leave a Reply

4th of July Weekend Brings Massive Surge for Toby Keith

“Courtesy of the Red, White and Blue”: Fans Keep Toby Keith’s Legacy Alive and Well With a Fitting Boost

Wedding Band Decides To Drop Lawsuit Again Country Star Jelly Roll

Lawsuit Against Country Superstar Jelly Roll Dropped