J.P. Harris and the Tough Choices Announce Home Is Where the Hurt Is


Videos by American Songwriter

J.P. Harris announced Home Is Where the Hurt Is, out September 23. The follow-up to 2012’s critically acclaimed I’ll Keep Calling, Home finds Harris covering familiar country territory – heartbreak, truck stops, drugs – but with that signature Tough Choices stamp that separates Harris from all the other honky tonk wannabes with a guitar and a bottle of Jack.

Harris pulled together a few musically inclined friends for Home, including Old Crow Medicine Show’s Chance McCoy on guitar and fiddle and Nashville’s own Nikki Lane helping out with vocals. He and guitarist Adam Meisterhans and engineer Justin Francis produced the album together, recording and mixing the tracks at Ronnie Milsap’s former studio Ronnie’s Place.

Listen to the record’s first single, “Give a Little Lovin’,” over at Esquire. You can also catch J.P. and his band out on the road.

Home Is Where The Hurt Is Track Listing:

1. Give a Little Lovin’
2. A Breaking Heart
3. South Oklahoma
4. Old Love Letters
5. Home Is Where The Hurt Is
6. Maria
7. Every Little Piece
8. One For Every Day
9. Truckstop Amphetamines
10. Young Women and Old Guitars


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Ruthie Foster: Promise Of A Brand New Day