My Name Is New York Tells The Story Of Woody Guthrie In New York


Videos by American Songwriter

Woody Guthrie Publications is releasing an audio collection, My Name Is New York  September 23, which chronicles Guthrie’s 27 years in New York.

The three-disc set features two discs of audio tours of New York landmarks that inspired Guthrie, who wrote over 600 songs and raised his family in the city. Stops include the boarding house on 43rd street where “This Land Is Your Land” was written and the home on Coney Island where he lived until his death in 1967. The set also features interviews from friends and colleagues, like Pete Seeger, Arlo Guthrie and Ramblin’ Jack Elliot.

Pete Seeger tells the story behind “Tom Joad” 

The third disc is a CD which includes some of Guthrie’s best-loved classics as well as some never-before heard tracks and covers by artists who were inspired by the folk pioneer.

Woody Guthrie, “My Name Is New York” 

“Working on this project has been more than just a nostalgic walk down  memory lane,” said Guthrie’s daughter Nora, who co-produced the set with Steve Rosenthal, Michael Kleff. “It’s been a precious adventure, collecting the stories – and the voices – of my father’s NYC friends and family, many of them who are now gone. It’s been, at times, both a hilarious and tearful journey. And, just as for thousands of artists who have migrated here, you can see how New York City was absolutely critical in significantly chiselling my father’s destiny.”

My Name Is New York Track List

Disc 1: February 16, 1940 — November 1942
01. 59th Street at 5th Avenue, Manhattan
02. 101 West 43rd Street, Manhattan
03. 57 East 4th Street, Manhattan
04. 31 East 21st Street, Manhattan
05. 5 West 101st Street, Manhattan
06. 70 East 12th Street, Manhattan
07. 130 West 10th Street, Manhattan
08. 430 6th Avenue, Manhattan
09. 148 West 14th Street, Manhattan
10. 647 Hudson Street, Manhattan

Disc 2: December, 1942 — October 3, 1967
01. 74 Charles Street, Manhattan
02. 3815 Atlantic Avenue, Brooklyn
03. 3520 Mermaid Avenue, Brooklyn
04. 49 Murdock Court, Brooklyn
05. 517 East 5th Street, Manhattan
06. Brooklyn State Hospital, 681 Clarkson Avenue, Brooklyn
07. 159-13 85th Street, Queens
08. Creedmore State Hospital, Queens
09. Final Resting Place: Atlantic Ocean, Brooklyn

Music Bonus CD Tracklist
01. “New York Town” (Woody Guthrie/Cisco Houston/Sonny Terry)
02. “New York Trains” (Del McCoury Band)
03. “Union Maid” (Almanac Singers)
04. “My New York City” (Mike + Ruthy)
05. “Tom Joad” (Woody Guthrie)
06. “Man’s A Fool” (Woody Guthrie (spoons)/Sonny Terry) home tape
07. “Vigilante Man” (Woody Guthrie)
08. “Union Air in Union Square” (Lowry Hamner)
09. “Round and Round Hitler’s Grave” (Almanac Singers)
10. “Jesus Christ” (Woody Guthrie)
11. “Beatitudes” (Reverend Billy & the Stop Shopping Choir)
12. “This Land Is Your Land” (Woody Guthrie)
13. “Go Coney Island, Roll On The Sand” (Demolition String Band)
14. “Howdi Do” (Ramblin’ Jack Elliott)
15. “My Name Is New York” (Woody Guthrie) home demo tape
16. “Go Down to the Water” (Billy Bragg & Wilco)

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Video Premiere: Louise Goffin, “Follow My Heart”

Lucinda Williams To Release Down Where The Spirit Meets The Bone