News Roundup: Clarence Clemons, Sara Hickman, O Brother, Where Art Thou?

Videos by American Songwriter

Clarence Clemons, sax player for the E Street Band, recently suffered a massive stroke. Bruce Springsteen has released a message to fans on his web site, encouraging them to share their love and support for Clemons.

“I thank you all for your prayers and positive energy and concern,” he writes. “This is a time for us all to share in a hopeful spirit that can ultimately inspire Clarence to greater heights.”

Personal messages can be sent to [email protected].

The Best of Times, Sara Hickman’s new project to benefit Theatre Action Project, will drop August 23 and feature 30 legendary Texas artists. The 38-track, double disc compilation boasts the work of Willie Nelson, Rhett Miller, Robert Earl Keen and more covering Hickmans’ songs. Proceeds will go toward TAP, which is dedicated to keeping the arts in central Texas schools.

2000’s O Brother, Where Art Thou? was a timeless film packed with timeless tunes – the accompanying soundtrack reached No. 1 on the Billboard Top 200 and still continues to sell. On August 16, the soundtrack will be re-released by UME as a 2-disc set that includes 13 previously unreleased recordings, overseen by original producer T Bone Burnett.

Check out the track list below:

Disc One: The Original O’Brother Where Art Thou

1. “Po’ Lazarus” – James Carter and prisoners
2. “Big Rock Candy Mountain” – Harry McClintock
3. “You Are My Sunshine” – Norman Blake
4. “Down To The River To Pray” – Alison Krauss
5. “I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow” – The Soggy Bottom Boys
6. “Hard Time Killing Floor Blues” – Chris Thomas King
7. “I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow” – Norman Blake
8. “Keep On The Sunny Side” – The Whites
9. “I’ll Fly Away” – Alison Krauss & Gillian Welch
10. “Didn’t Leave Nobody But The Baby” – Emmylou Harris, Alison Krauss & Gillian Welch
11. “In The Highways” – Sarah, Hannah, and Leah Peasall
12. “I Am Weary, Let Me Rest” – The Cox Family
13. “I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow” – John Hartford
14. “O Death” – Ralph Stanley
15. “In The Jailhouse Now” – The Soggy Bottom Boys
16. “I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow” – The Soggy Bottom Boys
17. “Indian War Whoop”- John Hartford
18. “Lonesome Valley” – Fairfield Four
19. “Angel Band” – The Stanley Brothers

Disc Two: Bonus Disc

* Unreleased Tracks

* 1. “Hard Time Killing Floor Blues” – Colin Linden
* 2. “You Are My Sunshine” – Alan O’Bryant
* 3. “Tishamingo County Blues” – John Hartford
4. “Mood Indigo” – Duke Ellington
* 5. “Cow Road” – T Bone Burnett
6. “I’ll Fly Away” – The Kossoy Sisters
* 7. ‘Big Rock Candy Mountain” – Van Dyke Parks
8. “Admiration” – Duke Ellington
9. “Tom Devil” – Ed Lewis and the Prisoners
* 10. “Keep On The Sunny Side” – The Cox Family
* 11. “Angel Band” – Sarah, Hannah, and Leah Peasall
* 12. “Big Rock Candy Mountain” – Norman Blake
* 13. “Little Sadie” – Norman Blake
* 14. “In The Highways” – The Cox Family
* 15. “That Hog’s Foot Further In The Bed” – John Hartford
* 16. “The Lord Will Make A Way” – Fairfield Four
* 17. “In The Jailhouse Now” – Harley Allen


Leave a Reply
  1. Dear Mr Clemons and family,You are in my thoughts and prayers.
    You are a beautiful human being and I thank you for bringing so much glorious music to this Earth . I love YOU,Jesus LOVES you, Laura

Leave a Reply

Crazy Heart: A Q&A With Ryan Bingham