Velvet Underground to Release Deluxe Self-Titled Reissue


Videos by American Songwriter

The Velvet Underground just announced plans to release a deluxe, 6-disc reissue of their classic self-titled album, available November 24. The release celebrates the 45th anniversary of the album, which was the band’s third full-length effort.

The Velvet Underground, released in 1969, was the band’s first album after the departure of founding member John Cale, who was replaced by Doug Yule. Despite the lineup change, the album, which features monumental recordings like “Pale Blue Eyes” and “Candy Says,” was well received, with Robert Christgau declaring it the band’s best album thus far upon its release.

The deluxe reissue will feature 65 tracks, including one disc of previously unreleased songs the band recorded before parting ways with MGM. Other rarities will include alternate takes and a full album remaster by MGM engineer Val Valentin. The box set includes a case bound book with new liner notes written by Rolling Stone’s David Fricke.

The reissue will also be available as one and two disc remastered editions. For pre-order information and a complete track list, visit


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Watch: Odessa, “I Will Be There”