Watkins Family Hour Unveil “Steal Your Heart Away”


Siblings Sara and Sean Watkins, best known for their work in acoustic trio Nickel Creek, have long performed under the Watkins Family moniker at Largo in Los Angeles, but now the duo has taken their stage performance to the studio.

Videos by American Songwriter

With a little help from friends like Fiona Apple, Tom Petty keyboardist Benmont Tench and a handful of others, the duo announced their debut album, Watkins Family Hour, to be released July 24 on their own Family Hour Records. They’ve also just shared the album’s first single, a cover of Fleetwood Mac’s “Steal Your Heart Away.”

“Taking the Watkins Family Hour on tour and releasing this record feels like the right next step,” Sara said in a press release. “The show is about a community of players and that community stretches across the country. If we can’t get everyone to L.A. to do our show, we’ll come to them. We are coming to towns where we have friends and we can have those moments, even if it’s not our home club. It’s the people on stage who make that happen; it’s just a matter of getting the right group of people together. We are being thoughtful about where we are going so we can have that sort of flexibility. It will be a very different show in every town.”

Listen to “Steal Your Heart Away,” as well as check out the Watkins Family Hour track list and the band’s tour dates, below.


1. Feelin’ Good Again (written by Robert Earl Keen, lead vocals by Sara Watkins)

2. Where I Ought To Be (written by Harlan Howard, lead vocals by Fiona Apple and Sara Watkins)

3. Not In Nottingham (written by Roger Miller, lead vocals by Sean Watkins)

4. Steal Your Heart Away (written by Lindsey Buckingham, lead vocals by Sara Watkins)

5. Prescription for the Blues (written by Saunders Montgomery, lead vocals by Benmont Tench)

6. Going Going Gone (written by Bob Dylan, lead vocals by Sean Watkins)

7. Hop High (traditional, arranged by Watkins Family Hour, lead vocals by Sara Watkins)

8. She Thinks I Still Care (written by Dickey Lee Lipscomb, lead vocals by Sebastian Steinberg)

9. The King of the 12 Oz. Bottles (written by Lee Ving, lead vocals by Don Heffington)

10. Early Morning Rain (written by Gordon Lightfoot, lead vocals by Sara Watkins)

11. Brokedown Palace (written by Robert C. Hunter and Jerry Garcia, lead vocals by Sara Watkins)



July 24                                                          Newport, RI                                   Newport Folk Festival

July 28, 29 & 30                                         New York, NY                                                 City Winery

August 1 & 2                                                Nashville, TN                                                 City Winery

August 5 & 6                                                Chicago, IL                              Old Town School of Folk

August 14 & 15                                           Berkeley, CA                                        Freight & Salvage

August 21                                                      Portland, OR                                           Aladdin Theater

August 22 & 23                                              Seattle, WA                                              Tractor Tavern

September 8 & 9                                        Alexandria, VA                                           The Birchmere

September 10                                                Carrboro, NC                                                 Cat’s Cradle

September 11 & 12                                     Asheville, NC                                           The Grey Eagle

September 13                                                 Atlanta, GA                                               Terminal West

September 15                                                 Athens, GA                                            Georgia Theatre


Leave a Reply

Daily Discovery: Lost Element, “Twenty Five”