After Nearly A Decade, Ray Davies Will Make Solo Return With Americana


Videos by American Songwriter

It’s been nine years since Kinks vocalist, guitarist and songwriter Ray Davies last released a solo album, but the streak will come to an end April 21 with the release of Americana, Davies’ new LP with Legacy Recordings. Davies recruited Minnesota alt-country four piece The Jayhawks to serve as his backing band, which he co-produced.

The 15-track album was recorded at Konk, the Kinks’ London studio, and is said to thematically follow Davies’ 2013 autobiography. Both the book and the album chronicle the role America has played in the singer’s life, from his early days touring with the Kinks to his periods spent living in New Orleans and New York City.

See a full track listing and cover art for the album below.


Americana tracklisting:
1. Americana
2. The Deal
3. Poetry
4. Message From The Road
5. A Place In Your Heart
6. The Mystery Room
7. Silent Movie
8. Rock ‘N’ Roll Cowboys
9. Change For Change
10. The Man Upstairs
11. I’ve Heard That Beat Before
12. A Long Drive Home To Tarzana
13. The Great Highway
14. The Invaders
15. Wings Of Fantasy

Winter NAMM 2017: A Guitar Lover’s Wonderland