Song Premiere: Holly Williams, “Drinkin'”

Videos by American Songwriter

Nashville-based singer/songwriter Holly Williams (the granddaughter of country music legend Hank Williams) will release her third album, The Highway,on Georgiana Records in February.

Co-produced by Williams and Charlie Peacock (The Civil Wars), The Highway boasts guest appearances from Jackson Browne, Jakob Dylan, Dierks Bentley, and Country Strongactress Gwyneth Paltrow.

“This was one of those ’10 minute songs’ as Hank Sr. used to call them,” says Williams. “I think songs are little droplets from God. I had been going through a bit of a writing lull in the fall of 2011 but I woke up one morning, started fingerpicking, and this song poured out. I had written the line “I’m drinking like the night is young” years ago, and while going through an old lyrics notebook I found this line and immediately latched on.

“This may not be my story at this time in my life (thankfully) but it’s the story of many people around me. Growing up in the south and seeing so many small town tales was really the catalyst for this song. It’s the sad story of a spinning wheel that won’t cease.”

The Highway Track List:

1. Drinkin’
2. Gone Away From Me
3. Railroads
4. Happy
5. The Highway
6. Without You
7. Let You Go
8. Giving Up
9. A Good Man
10. ‘Til It Runs Dry
11. Waiting On June


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Jesse Lafser: Land In Sight

Q&A: The Wallflowers’ Jakob Dylan Remembers Bringing Down The Horse