Song Premiere: The Flatlanders, “Shadow Of The Moon”

(The Flatlanders circa 1972)

Videos by American Songwriter

In honor of their 40th anniversary, “founding fathers of Americana” The Flatlanders (Joe Ely, Jimmie Dale Gilmore and Butch Hancock) will release The Odessa Tapes on August 28 via New West Records. The album is comprised of recently discovered recordings from 1972 that were believed lost for nearly forty years.

The Odessa Tapes contains four previously unreleased tracks, plus the original versions of ten songs that were eventually re-recorded and placed on All American Music,which had a limited life on 8-track cassette and then disappeared. A DVD and a booklet of photos will be included with the deluxe release, and there will be a Limited edition 180-gram vinyl version as well.

The Flatlanders will play songs from The Odessa Tapeson their summer tour. Listen to one of the tracks, “Shadow Of The Moon” below.

“At the time I was studying astronomy up in the Panhandle of Texas, so I was in the habit of looking up into the magic of the West Texas sky,” Hancock tells American Songwriter. “One night I walked outside and the crescent moon was especially magnificent, inspiring me to write this song.”

The Odessa Tapes Track Listing:

1. I Know You
2. Number Sixteen
3. Shadow Of The Moon
4. Dallas
5. Down In My Hometown
6. Stars In My Life
7. I Think Too Much Of You
8. Bhagavan Decreed
9. Tonight I Think I’m Gonna Go Downtown
10. You’ve Never Seen Me Cry
11. One Road More
12. Story Of You
13. Rose From The Mountain
14. The Heart You Left Behind


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Grace Potter & the Nocturnals: The Lion The Beast The Beat