The Morning Pages Ready Rising Rain


Videos by American Songwriter

This morning, we listened to a great new band called The Morning Pages. The Pages hail from the shores of Brooklyn, where they craft catchy songs with tight, roots rock arrangements that, in there best moments, sound like they spilled from the pen of Robbie Robertson.

“The sound that these guys got onto tape comes from the mighty heavens,” raved Tripwire Magazine in 2007. “It’s like American Beauty slept with Gram Parsons and Emmylou Harris while cheating on The Band’s version of ‘I Shall Be Released.'”

Led by Grant Maxwell (lead vocals/rhythm guitar), the band comprises Matt Stoulil (bass guitar), Ben Arons (drums/harmony vocals), Kendra MacDevitt (harmony vocals/fiddle/percussion), Rick Fox (keyboards/accordion), Chris Hills (lead guitar). Their debut album, Rising Rain, was produced by legendary Jon Spencer Blues Explosion drummer Russell Simins, who drunkenly approached the band about working with them on New Years Eve, 2008. Sometimes, people who are inebriated make good decisions. The album features guest vocals from NYC sister vocal act The Pierces, and keyboards from Alec Higgins of Alberta Cross. The album drops May 11 on Zealous Records.

Check out the MP3 for lead single “My Name Is Lion” here.

Leave a Reply

Lyrical Confusion: The “Single Ladies” Baby Bursts Into Tears