Bonnie Raitt Covers Two Dylan Songs On New Album, Slipstream

After being covered by big name artists like Bon Iver and Adele in 2011, blues icon and 9-time Grammy-winner Bonnie Raitt is ready for her comeback.

On April 10, Raitt will release Slipstream on her new label, Redwing Records. The album was recorded with Raitt’s long-time touring band. Guests include producer Joe Henry, Bill Frisell, Paul Brady, Maia Sharp and NRBQ’s Al Anderson. The first single is a cover of Gerry Rafferty’s “Right Down The Line,” with a new reggae arrangement. The album finds Raitt covering two songs from Bob Dylan’s 1997 album Time Out Of Mind — “Million Miles” and “Standing In The Doorway.”

“I’m so inspired and so proud to continue these traditions, whether it’s reggae or soul or blues,” says Raitt of the new album. “I’m in the slipstream of those who came before me, and I’m leaving one for those behind me.”

Slipstream Track Listing:

1. Used To Rule The World (Randall Bramblett)
2. Right Down The Line (Gerry Rafferty)
3. Million Miles (Bob Dylan)
4. You Can’t Fail Me Now (Joseph Lee Henry/Loudon Wainwright III)
5. Down To You (George Marinelli/Bonnie Raitt/Randall Bramblett)
6. Take My Love With You (Gordon Kennedy/Wayne Kirkpatrick/Kelly Price)
7. Not Cause I Wanted To (Al Anderson/Bonnie Bishop)
8. Ain’t Gonna Let You Go (Al Anderson/Bonnie Bramlett)
9. Marriage Made in Hollywood (Paul Brady/Michael O’Keefe)
10. Split Decision (Al Anderson/Gary Nicholson)
11. Standing in the Doorway (Bob Dylan)
12. God Only Knows (Joseph Lee Henry)