Big Thief Announce Debut Album Masterpiece

 

Big Thief - Masterpiece Cover

Only a few weeks after the announcement of their deal with Saddle Creek, Big Thief have revealed a release date for their debut album Masterpiece – the eagerly awaited LP drops May 27.

Big Thief is the product of Brooklyn-based musicians Adrianne Lenker, Buck Meek, Max Oleartchik and James Krivchenia. Lenker, who began her career as a solo artist, met Meek in New York a few years ago, where the two quickly formed a musical partnership. While performing in dive bars and in basements, they recorded new music, including Lenker’s solo album, Hours Were The Birds. Lenker and Meek then joined forces with the other half of Big Thief and spent last July recording Masterpiece in a Lake Champlain, New York, studio with producer Andrew Sarlo.

“Struggle is inherent in love. Without consciousness, human or animal, would love exist?,” Lenker said of their new track, “Real Love.” “We make love, and love makes us. Maybe that’s why it is so hard for us when we feel that we’ve lost it, as if we’ve disappeared.”

Big Thief is set to perform several showcases at SXSW this month and will hit the road with Yuck for an extensive tour this spring.

Masterpiece Tracklisting:
1. Little Arrow
2. Masterpiece
3. Vegas
4. Real Love
5. Interstate
6. Lorraine
7. Paul
8. Human
9. Velvet Ring
10. Animals
11. Randy
12. Parallels

Hear Big Thief’s new song, “Real Love,” and check our their tour dates below.

BIG THIEF TOUR DATES:

Thu. Mar 10 – Chapel Hill, NC @ The Kraken w/ The Love Language
Fri. Mar. 11 – Savannah, GA @ Savannah Stopover Festival
Sat. Mar. 12 – Atlanta, GA @ Aisle 5 w/ Yuck, Sunflower Bean
Sun. Mar. 13 – Baton Rouge, LA @ Spanish Moon w/ Yuck
Tue. Mar. 15 – Austin, TX @ 3Ten Austin City Limits Live (Pre SXSW Party) – 9:20PM
Wed. Mar. 16 – Austin, TX @ Clive Bar (Showtime Roadies House) – 4PM
Wed. Mar. 16 – Austin, TX @ The Sidewinder Inside (Ground Control Showcase) – 12AM
Mon. Mar. 21 – Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom w/ Yuck, Sunflower Bean
Tue. Mar. 22 – Las Vegas, NV @ The Bunkhouse Saloon w/ Yuck
Wed. Mar. 23 – San Diego, CA @ Soda Bar w/ Yuck
Thu. Mar. 24 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echoplex w/ Yuck
Fri. Mar. 25 – Visalia, CA @ The Cellar Door w/ Yuck
Sat. Mar. 26 – San Francisco, CA @ Great American Music Hall w/ Yuck
Mon. Mar. 28 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios w/ Yuck
Tue. Mar. 29 – Vancouver, BC @ Fortune Sound Club w/ Yuck
Wed. Mar. 30 – Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile w/ Yuck
Thu. Mar. 31 – Boise, ID @ Neurolux w/ Yuck
Fri. Apr. 1 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Metro Bar w/ Yuck
Sat. Apr. 2 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge w/ Yuck
Sun. Apr. 3 – Omaha, NE @ Lookout Lounge w/ Yuck
Mon. Apr. 4 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St. Entry w/ Yuck
Tue. Apr. 5 – Madison, WI @ High Noon Saloon w/ Yuck
Wed. Apr. 6 – Chicago, IL @ The Empty Bottle w/ Yuck
Thu. Apr. 7 – Ferndale, MI @ The Loving Touch w/ Yuck
Tue. Apr. 12 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg w/ Yuck
Fri. Apr. 15 – Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel w/ Yuck