Exclusive: Hear “The Gambler” From Reggae’s Gone Country

Videos by American Songwriter

Some records you don’t see coming, such as VP and Warner Music Nashville’s Reggae’s Gone Country, a 14-track compilation of popular reggae artists shaking up country classics. Produced in part by John Rich of Big & Rich and featuring vocals by country music vet Larry Gatlin, the new disc (due August 30) was largely recorded at the famed Tuff Gong Studios in Kingston, Jamaica.

“Everyone from 20-year-old kids to their grandparents listen to country in Jamaica,” explains VP Records’ Cristy Barber. People are always so shocked when I say this, but the music plays such an important role in the Caribbean.”

Check out the full track list, and get a sneak preview of Busy Signal’s take on “The Gambler” below.

The Gambler

Reggae’s Gone Country Track Listing:

1. California – Romain Virgo & Larry Gatlin
2. He’ll Have To Go – Luciano
3. Wolverton Mountain – Richie Stephens
4. Crazy – Etana
5. The Chair – Tarrus Riley
6. He Stopped Loving Her Today – Beres Hammond
7. Suspicions – Duane Stephenson
8. Don’t It Make My Brown Eyes – Tessanne Chin
9. Feel So Right – Gramps Morgan
10. King Of The Road – Freddie McGregor
11. El Paso – Sanchez
12. Flowers On The Wall – L.U.S.T.
13. The Gambler – Busy Signal
14. Straight Tequila Night – Tarrus Riley [iTunes Bonus Track]


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply


Steve Miller Keeps On Rockin’ ‘Em At The Ryman