Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon Readies Side Project

Videos by American Songwriter

bon iver

Volcano Choir, the new side project of Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon and Wisconsin band Collections of Colonies of Bees,  will release their debut LP, Unmap, on  September 22.

According to Jagjaguwar, Vernon’s label, the album harnesses a “vibe of some intimate backwoods gospel, plus a spirit of patience and thoughtful repetition…the music of Volcano Choir is as dynamic as it is lovely.” Although the album was recorded over a single weekend in November 2008, the songs on Unmap date back to summer 2005 (before Vernon’s success with Bon Iver).

Speaking to Pitchfork, Vernon says of the nine-track album, “I sing on it, but there aren’t a lot of lyrics. It’s mostly choir stuff.”

Here’s the track list:

1. Husks and Shells

2. Seeplymouth

3. Island, IS

4. Dote

5. And Gather

6. Mbira in the Morass

7. Cool Knowledge

8. Still

9. Youlogy

-Jaime Younger


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Spoon Offer Just a Spoonful With New EP