Caroline Rose to Drop ‘The Art of Forgetting’

Indie pop singer-songwriter Caroline Rose has mastered The Art of Forgetting.

Videos by American Songwriter

Born from a series of heartbreaking events, their fifth studio album bears witness to a dive deep within for a 14-track confession overflowing with intense, raw emotion and brutal honesty.

“I think art is a good extension of a person’s life,” Rose previously told American Songwriter. “I wanted to make this an extension of my life on steroids. A long time ago, someone told me that the person that you put on stage is a version of that person with the spotlight on them, shining a spotlight on the things that the audience wants to see. I have interpreted that as I’m going to display these parts of myself on stage and on records that people might not want to see, but I need to fucking talk about.”

The Art of Forgetting is poised to illuminate those parts of Rose. With the album announcement, Rose has shared a glimpse inside the record with the single, “Miami.” A hypnotic acoustic dream, “Miami” crackles to life with whining riffs and thundering beats.

“For the ‘Miami’ video, I was mainly focused on what would be the most effective way to move people in regards to the two characters and how they interact,” Rose said of the song’s accompanying music video in a statement. “Because this is a sort of loose recreation of some things in my life it was important to me to interpret the feeling of that time as accurately as we could within four minutes’ time.”

Sam Bennett served as director of the song’s music video. “Sam, who is a dear friend of mine and brilliant director, thought a great way to capture that fever-dream-like quality was to create a lot of movement with a continuous shot. He showed me different lenses and cameras to use and we ultimately went with an anamorphic, Old Hollywood-esque feel, which gives it that nostalgia thinking back on a time past.”

Check out “Miami” below.

“Miami” follows the album’s previously released opening track, “Love / Lover / Friend.” The Art of Forgetting is set to drop on March 24. In support of the release, Rose will embark on a headlining tour of North America this spring, playing some of their biggest shows to date.

Track List

1. “Love / Lover / Friend”
2. “Rebirth”
3. “Miami”
4. “Better Than Gold”
5. “Everywhere I Go I Bring the Rain”
6. “The Doldrums”
7. “The Kiss”
8. “Cornbread”
9. “Stockholm Syndrome”
10. “Tell Me What You Want”
11. “Florida Room”
12. “Love Song For Myself”
13. “Jill Says”
14. “Where Do I Go From Here?”

The Art of Forgetting Cover Artwork /Courtesy of Pitch Perfect PR

Leave a Reply

Melissa Etheridge, James Taylor, Brian Wilson and More React to the Death of David Crosby