Songwriters Hall of Fame to Hold Master Class with Lamont Dozier, Award Abe Olman Scholarship

If your in New York City on June 16, make sure to hit the Kaufman center.

Videos by American Songwriter

The Songwriters Hall of Fame (SHOF) have announced that the 2009 Abe Olman Scholarships for Excellence in Songwriting will be presented on Tuesday, June 16th, at 8pm at the Kaufman Center, located at 129 West 67th Street, between Broadway and Amsterdam. The presentation will be preceded by the 2009 SHOF Master Class, given by songwriting icon Lamont Dozier, of Holland-Dozier-Holland, the songwriting powerhouse who created the Motown Sound, writing the hits for the Supremes, the Temptations and many more. Grammy winner/author Nelson George will be in conversation with Dozier during the evening. Admission is free, and for seating/ticket reservations, contact the Merkin Hall at the Kaufman Center box office at 212-501-3330

The Abe Olman Scholarships are given annually to five promising young songwriters who have risen to an exemplary standard, one each chosen by ASCAP, BMI, SESAC, SGA and SHOF.

This year’s Abe Olman Scholarship recipients are:

* Madi Diaz (SHOF)
* Michael Grubbs (SESAC)
* April Lynn Smith (BMI)
* Kirsten Thien (SGA)
* Natalie Warner (ASCAP)

Abe Olman, for whom the scholarship program is named, would have celebrated his 100th birthday this year. Olman was both a major figure in the music publishing community and a songwriter himself, in addition to being one of the founders of the Songwriters Hall of Fame. The Abe Olman Scholarships given out each year are made possible by his family in the interest of encouraging and supporting the careers of young songwriters the likes of former scholarship recipient John Legend.

The Abe Olman Scholarship winners’ songs are also featured on the annual compilation CD; The Best of the Songwriters Hall of Fame New Writers Showcase: Volume 7.

Songwriters Hall of Fame Chairman/CEO Hal David today announced the creation of The Holly Prize, a new scholarship made possible by Songmasters as a tribute to Buddy Holly, a SHOF inductee. The Holly Prize will recognize and support talented new singer/songwriters whose work exhibits the qualities of Holly’s music: true, great and original. The Holly Prize inauguration coincides with Songmasters’ launch of Listen to Me: Buddy Holly, a multi-media celebration of Buddy Holly created in collaboration with the Estate of Buddy Holly.

“Buddy Holly was one of music’s true pioneers. His unique style and all-around talent as a songwriter, performer and producer is still a major influence on today’s music. He was committed to controlling his own artistry and to helping other young musicians do the same. We are thrilled that Songwriters Hall of Fame wants to recognize that same spirit in the next generation of songwriters,” says Jennifer Cohen, Managing Partner of Songmasters. The Holly Prize will be administered and juried by the SHOF, and Songmasters will provide the support for the cash prize and recognition award. The first Holly Prize will be awarded in June, 2010, during the Songwriters Hall of Fame presentations of the Abe Olman Scholarship Awards For Excellence In Songwriting. Founded in 1994, Songmasters uses the music its clients’ consumers love and the causes they care about to launch integrated marketing and brand communications programs for its corporate, non-profit and music industry clients. For more information on Songmasters or the Listen to Me series, visit

In other news, SHOF is being celebrated by Hal Leonard Publishing, which will publish a songbook, highlighting the songwriting gems of 38 inductees from 2003 – 2009, including Jon Bon Jovi & Richie Sambora (“You Give Love A Bad Name”); Desmond Child (“Livin’ On A Prayer”); Loretta Lynn (“Coal Miner’s Daughter”); David Bowie (“Fame”); Queen (“We Are The Champions”); Van Morrison (“Brown Eyed Girl”) and many more. The Songwriters Hall of Fame Songbook will feature bios and photos of each artist and an introduction by Hal David.

About The Songwriters Hall of Fame:
The Songwriters Hall of Fame celebrates songwriters, educates the public with regard to their achievements, and produces a spectrum of professional programs devoted to the development of new songwriting talent through workshops, showcases and scholarships. Over the course of the past 40 years, some key Songwriters Hall of Fame inductees have included Desmond Child, Loretta Lynn, John Sebastian, John Fogerty, Isaac Hayes and David Porter, Steve Cropper, Richard and Robert Sherman, Bill Withers, Carole King, Paul Simon, Bob Dylan, Billy Joel, Sir Elton John, Bernie Taupin, Brian Wilson, James Taylor, James Brown, Curtis Mayfield, Hal David and Burt Bacharach, Jim Croce, Phil Collins, Alan and Marilyn Bergman, Jimmy Webb, Paul Williams, Van Morrison and Cy Coleman, among many, many others. The Songwriters Hall of Fame was founded in 1969 by songwriter Johnny Mercer and publishers Abe Olman and Howie Richmond.


Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

NY Songwriter’s Circle Heads to Berklee College of Music