Jeff Bridges Readies New Album, Jeff Bridges

Actor, musician, and American Songwriter cover star Jeff Bridges has announced more details about his upcoming  album, the unofficial followup to 2000’s Be Here Soon. The Blue Note/EMI release, due August 16, will be produced by longtime friend T Bone Burnett. Perhaps taking a cue from Bon Iver’s Bon Iver, the album will be called Jeff Bridges.

Jeff Bridges was recorded in Brooklyn, New York and Los Angeles, and features a handful of original compositions from Bridges — Falling Short,” “Tumbling Vine,” I Will Wait” (a co-write with Burnett and John Goodwin) and “Slow Boat” (a co-write with Burnett and Thomas Cobb).

Several songwriters whose work appeared in Crazy Heart, in which Bridges portrayed fallen country singer Bad Blake, have their work represented; the late Stephen Bruton (“What A Little Bit of Love Can Do,” “Nothing Yet”) veteran folk artist Greg Brown (“Blue Car”), John Goodwin (“Maybe I Missed The Point,” “Everything But Love,” “The Quest”), and Bo Ramsay (“Either Way”).

Guest vocalists on the album include Ryan Bingham, who co-wrote the Crazy Heart theme “The Weary Kind,” Rosanne Cash, Sam Phillips, and Benji Hughes.

Track listing for Jeff Bridges:

“What A Little Bit Of Love Can Do”
“I Will Wait”
“Falling Short”
“Maybe I Missed The Point”
“Tumbling Vine”
“Nothing Yet”
“Blue Car”
“Slow Boat”
“Either Way”
“Everything But Love”
“The Quest”