Billy Ocean Set To Release ‘One World,’ First Album in a Decade

As Billy Ocean celebrates his 70th birthday this month, today, it was announced he will release his first album of new material in 10 years – One World. The album will be released on April 17, 2020 with the title single, also called “One World” available today. The news follows his recent appointment to a MBE for his services to music at this year’s New Year’s Honours.

Videos by American Songwriter

One World is available for pre-order now:

Listen to the single, “One World”

The album sees Billy reunite with producer Barry Eastmond who wrote and produced a number of Billy’s biggest hits including “When The Going Gets Tough” and “Love Zone.” Recorded over the summer of 2019 in studios in Manchester and New York Billy co-wrote all 12 tracks on the album.

This release follows a spectacular few years for Billy. In 2018, he was awarded the Ivor Novello Award for International Achievement in recognition of his international success and the enduring popularity of his music and, recently his iconic music videos have all been restored from original tapes and released in HD. In 2016, the album “Here You Are: The Best of Billy Ocean” debuted at number 4 on the UK albums chart, remaining in the top 10 for 3 weeks. It has since been certified Silver.

Billy Ocean said, “One World is my first original studio album in over 10 years. It’s like a landmark for my 70th birthday! I feel this album reflects my maturity, and the many genres of music I’ve been exposed to – coming from the Caribbean as a little boy influenced by calypso music, to growing up in the East End of London, where music was so wonderfully diverse. I truly feel One World has captured all of my musical influences over the years. The album reflects my thoughts, and the way that I feel at 70 years old, but most of all I hope that it will make people stop and think about life and its meaning.”

Billy Ocean is a Grammy Award winner with worldwide sales of over 30 million. He hit the number one spot across three continents in the 70s and 80s, counting no fewer than six UK top 10 singles. ‘Caribbean Queen’ stormed to number one on both the US singles chart and US R&B chart,and is amongst Billy’s six US top 10 singles. With top 10 albums the world over, Billy has notched up an impressive three Platinum albums (including two which are certified 2x Platinum).

One World Tracklisting 

1. We Gotta Find Love

2. Love You More

3. Feel The Love

4. One World

5. When I Saw You

6. Mystery

7. Missing You Everyday

8. Can’t Stand The Pain

9. Betcha Don’t Know

10. All Over The World

11. Daylight

12. Nothing Will Stand In Our Way

Drew and Ellie Holcomb Premiere Songbirds Foundation Vault Session