Jack Johnson to Release Dub Remix Album ‘In Between Dub’

Jack Johnson has announced a new album, In Between Dub, featuring a remix collection of some of the singer/songwriter’s most beloved recordings – but with a dub twist. In Between Dub will arrive on June 2 via Brushfire and Republic Records.

Videos by American Songwriter

Ahead of the full album’s release, Johnson has shared the lead track “Traffic In the Sky,” remixed by Lee “Scratch” Perry. Listen to the song, below.

The album is three years in the making. Johnson first reached out to Perry in early 2020 in hopes he would produce the ambitious project. After a year-long pandemic pause, Perry began to flesh out several tracks from his studio in Jamaica.

In August of 2021, the project hit another halt when Perry died of an “unspecified illness.” The following year, Johnson and Subatomic Sound System, Perry’s band of the last decade, discovered they had all the pieces to bring the collaborative project to completion.

“Growing up in Hawai’i with reggae music always on the radio, Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry was a living Legend,” Johnson shared in a statement. “When I found out he was up for remixing a few of my songs I was blown away. The remixes evolved and he ended up adding his voice to my songs. It was like he had done a magic trick to the music. I will be forever grateful for the time, love, and energy that Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry put into this project.”

In Between Dub features two new Perry dubs, plus a Subatomic Sound System dub with vocals from Perry. Elsewhere are remixes by Scientist, Dennis Bovell, Nightmares On Wax, Mad Professor, Yaascore and Monk. Find the full tracklist, below.


1. “Traffic In The Sky” (Lee “Scratch” Perry)
2. “Wasting Time” (Subatomic Sound System)
3. “No Other Way” (Dennis Bovell)
4. “Times Like These” (Lee “Scratch” Perry)
5. “Calm Down” (Dennis Bovell)
6. “Better Together” (Nightmares On Wax)
7. “One Step Ahead” (Scientist)
8. “Breakdown” (Nightmares On Wax)
9. “Turn Your Love” (Mad Professor)
10. “You Can’t Control It” (Yaadcore)
11. “It’s All Underground” (Monk)

(Photo by Tim Mosenfelder/Getty Images)

Leave a Reply

Top 9 TV Theme Songs from the 1990s