Listen: Kaiser Chiefs Embrace the Groove In New Nile Rodgers Co-Write “Feeling Alright”

English indie rock group Kaiser Chiefs has revealed another gem from their upcoming eighth studio album. Released Wednesday (October 25), “Feeling Alright” is a funky, upbeat anthem co-written with Rock & Roll Hall of Fame member Nile Rodgers.

Videos by American Songwriter

Produced by Amir Amor, the band’s infectious new tune offers a message of motivation to push through the doldrums of everyday life. Feeling alright / I’m yours and you’re mine / Feeling alright / Don’t be scared to fight.

“On the first day with Nile Rodgers, he said, ‘What have you got?'” lead vocalist Ricky Wilson shared in a statement. “We searched through some jams we had, and this was a song that stood out to him. The band loved playing it round and round, and it must be fun to play, but we never really knew where it would find a home. 

“Nile turned out to be the best estate agent and found it a home almost immediately,” he continued. “He also brought in Amir, who turned out to be our housemate for the entire record. A good place to start!”

[RELATED: Nile Rodgers and Andy Taylor Appear on Duran Duran’s Macabre Single “Black Moonlight”]

“Feeling Alright” is the third pre-release single from Kaiser Chiefs’ Easy Eighth Album, due on March 1. The boisterous group has kept a steady presence in the indie rock scene since their breakout debut record Employment arrived in 2005. 

Next year, the band will embark on an extensive headlining tour of the U.K. in support of their upcoming record. Fans will have eight chances to catch a live show during the stint of shows this April, which ends with two performances in London. Fans can find more information on the tour by visiting Kaiser Chiefs’ official website.

Listen to “Feeling Alright” below:

The Easy Eighth Track List

1. “Feeling Alright”

2. “Beautiful Girl”

3. “How to Dance”

4. “The Job Centre Shuffle”

5. “Burning In Flames”

6. “Reasons to Stay Alive”

7. “Sentimental Love Songs”

8. “Jealousy”

9. “Noel Groove”

10. “The Lads”

Photo by Cal McIntyre, Courtesy of V2 Records

Leave a Reply

John Lennon’s Murder to be the Focus of New Three-Part Apple TV+ Docuseries