Songwriters Hall Of Fame Unveils 2010 Nominees


The Songwriters Hall of Fame has announced their list of nominees for 2010, a list which includes John Mellencamp, Leonard Cohen, and Elvis Costello. Among the non-performing songwriters on the list are Luther Dixon and Mutt Lange.

Ballots have been mailed to the SongHall membership for their vote, with the return deadline of December 11th, and the new slate of inductees will be announced next year. Three songwriters will be chosen by the membership from the Non-Performing category, and two from the Performing. The nominees are as follows (please note that the song titles listed are only intended as illustrations of the nominees work):

Non-Performer Songwriters

Tommy Boyce (d)/Bobby Hart – * Come A Little Bit Closer * I’m Not Your Steppin’ Stone * I Wonder What She’s Doing Tonight? * Last Train To Clarksville * Valleri

Jackie DeShannon – * Bette Davis Eyes * Breakaway * Dum Dum * Everytime You Walk In The Room * Put A Little Love In Your Heart

Luther Dixon – * Big Boss Man * Boys * I Don’t Want To Cry * Sixteen Candles * Soldier Boy

David Foster – * After The Love Is Gone * I Have Nothing * Look What You’ve Done To Me * The Prayer * You’re The Inspiration

Mark James – * (You Were) Always On My Mind * Eyes Of A New York Woman * Hooked On A Feeling * Moody Blue * Suspicious Minds

Robert John “Mutt” Lange – * Get Outta My Dreams, Get Into My Car * Have You Ever Really Loved A Woman * (Everything I Do) I Do It For You * Photograph * That Don’t Impress Me Much

Johnny Mandel – * A Time For Love * Emily * Suicide Is Painless (Theme from M*A*S*H*) * The Shadow Of Your Smile * Where Do You Start?

Jerry Ragovoy/Bert Berns (d) – * Cry Baby * Here Comes The Night * Pata Pata * Piece Of My Heart * Time Is On My Side

Harvey Schmidt & Tom Jones – * Much More * My Cup Runneth Over * Soon It’s Gonna Rain * They Were You * Try To Remember

Billy Sherrill – * Almost Persuaded * Every Time * Most Beautiful * My Elusive Dreams * Stand By Your Man

Joe South – * Down In The Boondocks * Games People Play * Hush * I Never Promised You A Rose Garden * Walk A Mile In My Shoes

Paul Vance & Lee Pockriss – * Catch A Falling Star * Dommage Dommage * Itsy Bitsy Teenie Weeny Yellow Polka Dot Bikini * Playground In My Mind * She Lets Her Hair Down


Bono (Paul Hewson)/The Edge (David Evans)/Adam Clayton/Larry Mullen (U2)– * Beautiful Day * I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For * New Year’s Day * Sunday, Bloody Sunday * Where The Streets Have No Name

Garth Brooks – * If Tomorrow Never Comes * Papa Loved Mama * The Thunder Rolls * What She’s Doin’ Now * Unanswered Prayers

Leonard Cohen – * Bird On The Wire * Hallelujah * Hey That’s No Way to Say Goodbye * So Long Marianne * Suzanne

Elvis Costello – * Accidents Will Happen * Alison * Radio, Radio * Pump It Up * Watching The Detectives

Dion DiMucci – * Born to Cry * Donna The Prima Donna * King Of The New York Streets * Love Came To Me * Runaround Sue

David Gates (Bread)– * Baby I’m-a Want You * Diary * Everything I Own * If * Make It With You

Yusuf Islam (formerly Cat Stevens) – * Moonshadow * Morning Has Broken * Peace Train * The First Cut Is The Deepest * Wild World

Tommy James – * Crimson And Clover * Crystal Blue Persuasion * Draggin’ The Line * I Think We’re Alone Now * Mony, Mony

John Mellencamp – * Jack And Diane * Lonely Ol’ Night * Pink Houses * Small Town * The Authority Song

Lou Reed – * Heroin * Pale Blue Eyes * Rock & Roll * Sweet Jane * Walk On The Wild Side

Leon Russell– * A Song For You * Delta Lady * Superstar * This Masquerade * Tight Rope

Maurice White/Philip Bailey/Verdine White/Larry Dunn/Al McKay (Earth, Wind and Fire) – * Reasons * September * Shining Star * Sing A Song * That’s The Way Of The World

About The Songwriters Hall of Fame: The Songwriters Hall of Fame celebrates songwriters, educates the public with regard to their achievements, and produces a spectrum of professional programs devoted to the development of new songwriting talent through workshops, showcases and scholarships. Over the course of the past 40 years, some key Songwriters Hall of Fame inductees have included Desmond Child, Loretta Lynn, John Sebastian, John Fogerty, Isaac Hayes and David Porter, Steve Cropper, Dolly Parton, Richard and Robert Sherman, Bill Withers, Carole King, Paul Simon, Bob Dylan, Billy Joel, Sir Elton John, Bernie Taupin, Brian Wilson, James Taylor, James Brown, Curtis Mayfield, Hal David and Burt Bacharach, Jim Croce, Phil Collins, Alan and Marilyn Bergman, Jimmy Webb, Paul Williams, Van Morrison, Crosby, Stills and Nash, Cy Coleman and many, many others. The Songwriters Hall of Fame was founded in 1969 by songwriter Johnny Mercer and publishers Abe Olman and Howie Richmond.
Full biographies and a complete list of inductees are available at the Songwriters Hall of Fame’s Virtual Museum at