2023 Americana Honors & Awards Winners

Tyler ChildersBilly Strings, and Bonnie Raitt were among the winners at Wednesday night’s (September 20) 2023 Americana Honors & Awards ceremony, held at Ryman Auditorium in Nashville.

Videos by American Songwriter

Childers’ fifth studio album, Can I Take My Hounds to Heaven?, won the Album of the Year category, edging out records from Margo Price, Charley Crockett, Angel Olsen, and Hermanos Gutiérrez. Singer/songwriter S.G Goodman, whose song “Space and Time” was covered by Childers for his latest record, Rustin’ In the Rain, earned the Emerging Act of the Year award.

[RELATED: 5 Events to Catch During Americanafest]

Influential artist and musician Bonnie Raitt won the Song of the Year award for her celebrated self-penned 2022 single, “Just Like That.” Bluegrass maestro Billy Strings was crowned Artist of the Year for the second straight year, and The War & Treaty again claimed the title of Duo/Group of the Year, which they previously won in 2022.

See the full list of winners below:

2023 Americana Honors & Awards Winners and Nominees:

Album of the Year:

Big Time, Angel Olsen (Produced by Angel Olsen and Jonathan Wilson)

WINNER: Can I Take My Hounds to Heaven?, Tyler Childers (Produced by Tyler Childers)

El Bueno y el Malo, Hermanos Gutiérrez (Produced by Dan Auerbach)

The Man from Waco, Charley Crockett (Produced by Bruce Robison)

Strays, Margo Price (Produced by Margo Price and Jonathan Wilson)

Artist of the Year:

Charley Crockett

Sierra Ferrell

Margo Price

Allison Russell

WINNER: Billy Strings

Duo/Group of the Year:

49 Winchester


Nickel Creek


WINNER: The War and Treaty

Emerging Act of the Year:

Adeem the Artist

WINNER: S.G. Goodman

William Prince

Thee Sacred Souls

Sunny War

Instrumentalist of the Year:

Isa Burke

Allison de Groot

Jeff Picker

WINNER: SistaStrings – Chauntee and Monique Ross

Kyle Tuttle

Song of the Year:

“Change of Heart,” Margo Price (Written by Jeremy Ivey, Margo Price)

“I’m Just a Clown,” Charley Crockett (Written by Charley Crockett)

WINNER: “Just Like That,” Bonnie Raitt (Written by Bonnie Raitt)

“Something in the Orange,” Zach Bryan (Written by Zach Bryan)

“You’re Not Alone,” Allison Russell featuring Brandi Carlile (Written by Allison Russell)

Photo by Mark Sagliocco/Getty Images

Leave a Reply

Remember When: The Who’s Cincinnati Concert Tragedy