Garth Brooks, Alan Jackson Lead 2011 Nashville Songwriters Hall Of Fame Inductees

Videos by American Songwriter

The Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame has announced its latest group of inductees; Garth Brooks, Alan Jackson, John Bettis, Thom Schulyer and Allen Shamblin. The five honorees will be welcomed into the Hall, which includes Bob Dylan, Hank Williams, Dolly Parton and Johnny Cash, during an awards ceremony dinner on October 16 at the Renaissance Nashville Hotel.

Shamblin is the tunesmith behind “I Can’t Make You Love Me” (Bonnie Raitt) and “The House That Built Me” (Miranda Lambert). Bettis’s hits include Top Of The World” (The Carpenters, Lynn Anderson) and “Slow Hand” (The Pointer Sisters, Conway Twitty). Schuyler penned “Love Will Turn You Around” (Kenny Rogers) and “A Long Line Of Love” (Michael Martin Murphey). And Alan Jackson and Garth Brooks are two of the most successful country artists in history.

“These five very talented individuals are among an era of powerhouse writers and artists who propelled country music to unparalleled heights beginning in the late 1980s and early 1990s, and also made substantial contributions to popular and rock music,” says NaSHOF chairman John Van Mol. “We look forward to a fantastic evening of recognition for our inductees, and great entertainment for all who attend.”

For more information on the inductees, visit A limited number of tickets are available to the public at  $200.  You can purchase them by contacting event director Mark Ford at [email protected] or 615-256-3354.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Wagons, “I Blew It”