Memphis’ Finest, The Bo-Keys, Ready New Album

Videos by American Songwriter

Memphis soul outfit The Bo-Keys will release their first album in seven years on June 21st via Electraphonic Recordings. The new disc, Got to Get Back, will feature legendary soul vocalists such as William Bell, Otis Clay, Percy Wiggins, and harp legend Charlie Musselwhite.

The Bo-Keys are Charles “Skip” Pitts and bassist/producer Scott Bomar. The Memphis Flyer recently declared “[The] Bo-Keys pair great Stax/Hi-era session players with a younger generation of local session aces.” Following their last critically acclaimed album The Royal Sessions, the new album features artists additions that are sure to please the soul loving crowd. Former Otis Redding trumpeter Ben Cauley, drummer Howard Grimes, and BB King Orchestra saxophone player Floyd Newman are also featured on the albums’ lineup.

Since the release of their first record, The Bo-Keys have played at festivals such as the Ponderosa Stomp festival; performed at Lincoln Center’s Midsummer Night’s Swing; backed Cyndi Lauper on her Grammy-nominated album Memphis Blues and performed on the Late Show with David Letterman. The band will open for Mavis Staples at Minglewood Hall in Memphis on May 27.

Got to Get Back Track Listing:


1 Hi Roller
2 Got to Get Back (To My Baby) featuring Otis Clay
3 Just Chillin’
4 Catch This Teardrop featuring Percy Wiggins
5 Jack and Ginger
6 Sundown on Beale


1 Weak Spot featuring William Bell
2 90 Days Same As Cash
3 I’m Going Home featuring Charlie Musselwhite
4 Cauley Flower
5 Work That Sucker featuring Charles “Skip” Pitts
6 Got to Get Back (To My Baby) PT 2 featuring Otis Clay

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Star-Studded Neil Young Tribute Coming To DVD