Boy Named Banjo Announce New Album ‘Dusk,’ Share “Lonely In This Town”

Over a decade after the release of their first record, Nashville’s own Boy Named Banjo will make their major-label debut this fall. On September 29, the country-folk band will share their long-awaited new album, Dusk via Mercury Records.

Videos by American Songwriter

The 9-track LP marks a pivotal moment for longtime bandmates Barton Davies (banjo), Ford Garrard (bass/standing bass), Sam McCullough (drums), Willard Logan (mandolin, acoustic/electric guitar), and William Reames (acoustic guitar/harmonica). Since the act’s formation in 2010, Boy Named Banjo has established a dedicated fanbase, thanks to their high-energy live performances and modern blend of bluegrass, country, folk, and Americana.

With Dusk, produced by Oscar Charles, the group offers a collection of songs that explore the highs and lows most of us face in life, from the joy of youth to the sting of heartbreak. Today (August 21), the band unveiled their new single, “Lonely In This Town,” highlighting the complicated feelings freedom can bring.

“I’ve always felt like ‘Lonely In This Town’ is best enjoyed driving with the windows down in your car,” Davies shares in a statement. “The music feels uplifting and euphoric with the three-part harmonies and steady groove, but then the lyrics come in and give the complete opposite vibe. It’s almost like you’re lonely, but you’re happy about it. I love that duality in the song.”

To celebrate the release of Dusk, Boy Named Banjo will embark on their extensive Dusk Til Dawn headlining tour. The trek begins September 14 in Atlanta and will stop at cities across the U.S. through early December. Brother Elsey, Will Jones, and Cassandra Lewis will act as support on select dates. 

You can find a complete list of upcoming tour dates and additional ticketing information at Boy Named Banjo’s official website.

Watch the official music video for “Lonely In This Town” below:

Dusk Track List:

1. “Something ‘Bout a Sunset”
2. “Heart Attack”
3. “Feel for You (Dusk)”
4. “Young Forever”
5. “Whiskey Dreams”
6. “Mama, I’m Misbehavin'”
7. “Goodbyes Are Sad”
8. “Lonely In This Town”
9. “Opposite Directions”

Photo by Tristan Cusick / Mercury Nashville

Leave a Reply

Don Henley’s Timeless Hits: 10 Songs that Define His Legacy

Travis Scott’s ‘UTOPIA’ Stays at No. 1 for Third Straight Week