The Band, CSN, Grateful Dead Featured On Taking Woodstock Soundtrack


Videos by American Songwriter

In 1969, Elliot Tiber was instrumental in helping save what would become America’s most famous music festival — Woodstock. This August, coinciding with the festival’s 40-year anniversary, director Ang Lee (Brokeback Mountain, Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon) is set to release Taking Woodstock, a revisiting of the events leading up to the festivals’ creation, featuring comedian Demitri Martin as Elliot Tiber.

As is only fitting, Taking Woodstock is equipped with an epic soundtrack reflective of the era’s most influential artists. Several artists from Woodstock’s original lineup are featured, as well as a number of acts who didn’t make the festival (Love, The Doors). Highlights include music from festival performers the Grateful Dead, Janis Joplin, Jefferson Airplane and Crosby Stills & Nash, as well as live tracks by Country Joe McDonald, Arlo Guthrie and The Band.

To be released three days before the film (August 25th), the Taking Woodstock soundtrack will be available in several versions — a physical CD including the soundtrack and selections of the film’s score (composed by Oscar-nominated Danny Elfman) ($18.98), a digital release of the standard soundtrack ($11.99), a digital version of the score only ($11.99), and an iTunes online exclusive featuring the soundtrack as well as the complete score ($19.99).

Here’s the track listing for the Taking Woodstock Soundtrack

1. “Freedom (2009)” – Richie Havens
2. Taking Woodstock Titles*
3. “Wooden Ships” – Crosby, Stills & Nash
4. “China Cat Sunflower” (Live) – Grateful Dead
5. “Maggie M’Gill” – The Doors
6. Elliot’s Place*
7. “Coming Into Los Angeles” (Live) – Arlo Guthrie
8. “I-Feel-Like-I’m-Fixin’-To-Die Rag” (Live) – Country Joe McDonald
9. “Going Up The Country” (Live) – Canned Heat
10. “Try (Just A Little Bit Harder)” (Live) – Janis Joplin
11. A Happening (Office #2)*
12. “The Red Telephone” – Love
13. “Beautiful People” (Live) – Melanie
14. “I Shall Be Released” (Live) – The Band
15. Perspective Extended*
16. “One More Mile” – The Paul Butterfield Blues Band
17. “Volunteers” – Jefferson Airplane

*Score written and produced by Danny Elfman

Taking Woodstock Score track listing:

1. Taking Woodstock Titles
2. Elliot’s Place
3. At Ease Man
4. Welcome Home
5. The Magic Tickets
6. Get The Money
7. Chocolate Milk
8. Groovy Thing (Office #1)
9. A Happening (Office #2)
10. Groovy Thing (Guitar Solo)
11. Life Goes On
12. The Acid Trip
13. Hash Brownies
14. In The Mud
15. Perspective Extended
16. I Love Her
17. Woodstock Wildtrack #1
18. Woodstock Wildtrack #2


Leave a Reply
  1. I’ve already read Elliot Tiber’s book TAKING WOODSTOCK twice, and I can’t wait to see what Ang Lee has done with the film of this wonderful story. As for this CD, the songs all seem pretty groovy in terms of “hep” representation of the times – the only weird choice is The Doors’ “Maggie McGill” since that track came from the 1970 Doors album MORRISON HOTEL (released some months after Woodstock ’69 took place in August). Other than that, though, I’m sure this will rock – and I just hope everyone is feeling as good this summer as I am . . . that Woodstock feeling is back, care of Elliot Tiber’s happy-ending story for all of us . . .

Leave a Reply

Deer Tick @ The Basement, Nashville, TN – 7/12/09