2023 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Inductees Revealed

Willie Nelson, Chaka Khan, George Michael, Sheryl Crow, Missy Elliott, and Kate Bush are among the 2023 inductees in the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame.

Videos by American Songwriter

“This year’s incredible group of Inductees reflects the diverse artists and sounds that define rock and roll,” said John Sykes, chairman of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Foundation in a statement. “We are honored that this November’s Induction Ceremony in New York will coincide with two milestones in music culture; the 90th birthday of Willie Nelson and the 50th Anniversary of the birth of Hip Hop.”

This year’s inductee list includes four artists who were nominated for the first time: Nelson, Elliott, Crow, Michael. Elliott is the only artist who was eligible for the first time in 2023, while Michael recently topped the fan voting ballot, which wrapped up on Friday (April 28), with with more than one million (1,040,072) votes.

The top five artists selected through fan voting were tallied along with the ballots from the international voting body of the Rock Hall to determine the class of 2023. To be eligible for induction into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, an artist’s first commercial release must have come out at least 25 years prior to the nomination year. 

The induction ceremony will take place at Barclay’s Center on Nov. 3 in Brooklyn, NY.

See the full list of inductees below:

Performer Category 

Kate Bush 
Sheryl Crow 
Missy Elliott 
George Michael 
Willie Nelson 
Rage Against the Machine 
The Spinners 

Musical Influence Award 

DJ Kool Herc 
Link Wray 

Musical Excellence Award 

Chaka Khan 
Al Kooper 
Bernie Taupin 

Ahmet Ertegun Award 

Don Cornelius 

Photo by Gary Miller/Getty Images

Leave a Reply

The 30 Jeff Buckley Quotes