Fat Possum Celebrates 25 Years With Blues Reissues

Fat Possum - 25 Years

Videos by American Songwriter

Oxford, Mississippi-based record label Fat Possum is celebrating 25 years of raw blues and rock ‘n’ roll with a year-long string of vinyl and digital releases.

The series, which features new music and reissues, boasts recordings from Fat Possum artists such as T-Model Ford, Robert Cage and Johnny Farmer, as well as offerings from modern acts like Paul Westerberg’s solo project Grandpa Boy and slide guitarist Bob Log III.

Started in 1991 by writer and recording engineer Matthew Johnson, Fat Possum gained national recognition with albums by North Mississippi bluesmen R.L. Burnside and Junior Kimbrough. Both artists will be represented in the series, with a vinyl reissue of Kimbrough’s Meet Me in the City available June 10, followed by Unplugged, a compilation of unreleased Burnside recordings out June 24.

Also premiering on vinyl will be Sunday Nights, the 2005 Kimbrough tribute featuring former Fat Possum group the Black Keys, Iggy & the Stooges, Cat Power and other artists. Digital editions of the label’s three Not the Same Old Blues Crap anthologies from 1997, 2001 and 2004 are all available now.

Check out a full list of the label’s future anniversary releases below.

Future Fat Possum Anniversary Releases

April 8 – Furry Lewis – Good Morning Judge LP / Digital
April 8 – Houston Stackhouse & Friends LP / Digital
April 16 – Sunday Nights: The Songs of Junior Kimbrough Record Store Day LP
April 16 – Junior Kimbrough – I Gotta Try You Girl Daft Punk Edit Record Store Day LP
May 06 – R.L. Burnside – Mississippi Hill Country Blues LP
May 20 – John Lee Hooker – Alone Volume 1 LP
May 20 – John Lee Hooker – Alone Volume 2 LP
May 27 – T-Model Ford – Pee Wee Get My Gun LP
May 27 – T-Model Ford – Bad Man LP
June 10 – Jim Bunkley & George Henry Bussey LP / Digital
June 10 – Junior Kimbrough – Meet Me in the City LP
June 24 – R.L. Burnside (unreleased recordings)
July 15 – Asie Payton – Just Do Me Right LP
July 15 – Robert Belfour – What’s Wrong With You LP
July 22 – All Men Are Liars Compilation CD / LP / Digital
Aug. 17 – Jimmy Lee Harris – I Wanna Ramble LP / Digital
Aug. 17 – Robert Cage – Can See What You’re Doing LP
Sept. 9 – Johnny Farmer – Wrong Doers Respect Me LP
Oct. 7- Dewey Corley & Walter Miller LP / Digital
Oct. 7 – Paul “Wine” Jones – Mule LP

Sarah Jarosz To Release New Album Undercurrent