Jake Owen Releases Four New Songs Ahead of ‘Loose Cannon’ Album

The country hitmaker has announced his seventh studio albumLoose Cannon. The full-length LP is expected to arrive on June 23, but Owen has provided fans with a taste of what’s to come ahead of Memorial Day weekend. 

Videos by American Songwriter

Owen released four new tracks from the project on Friday (May 26). The collection features “Hot Truck Beer,” “Solo, Solo,” “Nothing,” and “On the Boat Again.” 

The unexpected teaser starts off with “Hot Truck Beer,” a reflective track about embracing your upbringing and the lessons learned. “Nothing” is an easy-going melody made for a relaxing day off, while “On the Boat Again” is a modern twist of Willie Nelson’s timeless tune “On The Road Again.” The sunshine anthem made specifically for days on the water will serve as Owen’s summer single, which will make a splash on country radio on Tuesday, May 30. 

“I can’t wait to share this new wave of music with my fans,” said Owen in a press release. “This album is a long time coming and feels like the best version of me. Grab your buddies, put the boat in the water, pour a cold one out, and we’ll catch y’all out on the lake. It’s the best time of year, and we’re ready to celebrate.”

Ahead of the release of “Solo, Solo,” the artist turned to social media to tease the drinking song alongside his daughter. With a smile, the toddler said it was her “favorite” song on the project. As Owen strummed his acoustic guitar, his little one sang along to the catchy lyrics. 

Sippin’ on a Solo, solo | Feeling pretty high but I’m down low | Holding on tight ’cause she let go | Going under, getting over that tail light glow, he sings. Cup’s bright red, but I feel blue | She was the one so I poured two | ‘Case she comes back again, and until then I’ll sit here all alone | Sippin’ on a Solo, solo. 

“Solo, Solo” was penned by Ashley Gorley, Ben Johnson, Blake Pendergrass, and Hunter Phelps. Owen’s signature rasp is on full display, as he conveys the heart-wrenching lyrics about a breakup. The 16-song album, produced by Joey Moi and Kyle Fishman, will follow his 2019 album, Greetings From…Jake

Photo by Tim Mosenfelder/Getty Images

Leave a Reply

6 Musicians Who Have Struggled Openly With Lyme Disease