The Killers Release Charity Christmas Album

The Killers Christmas album

Videos by American Songwriter

The Killers have released a charitable Christmas album titled Don’t Waste Your Wishes, via Island Records.

Every year since 2006, the Las Vegas rock band has released a Christmas single for Bono’s (RED) program, with all proceeds going to The Global Fund’s support programs to combat AIDS. Don’t Waste Your Wishes compiles all of those singles, in addition to one new track.

The new recording is a cover of “I’ll Be Home for Christmas,” in which lead singer Brandon Flowers covers the Bing Crosby standard with help from his 4th grade teacher, Ned Humphrey Hansen.

Other guests that appear on the compilation include Elton John (“Joseph, Better You Than Me”), Dawes (“Christmas In L.A.”) and late night talk show host Jimmy Kimmel (“Joel The Lump Of Coal”).

The band, Island Records and iTunes will donate all proceeds of Don’t Waste Your Wishes in the U.S. iTunes store to the (RED) fund, just as they’ve done each year since the release of “A Great Big Sled” in 2006. The band will also donate all proceeds of a limited CD pressing to the charity.

Over the last decade, The Killers have raised more than $1 million for The Global Fund through their Christmas singles.

See the full track listing for the compilation and watch the video for the group’s most successful Christmas single, “Don’t Shoot Me Santa,” below:

The Killers’ Don’t Waste Your Wishes track listing:
1.”A Great Big Sled” feat. Toni Halliday
2. “Don’t Shoot Me Santa” feat. Ryan Pardey
3. “Joseph, Better You Than Me” feat. Elton John & Neil Tennant
4. “¡Happy Birthday Guadalupe!” feat. Wild Light and Mariachi El Bronx
5. “Boots”
6. “The Cowboys’ Christmas Ball”
7. “Feel It In My Bones” feat. Ryan Pardey
8. “Christmas In L.A.” feat. Dawes
9. “Joel The Lump Of Coal” feat. Jimmy Kimmel
10. “Dirt Sledding” feat. Ryan Pardey & Richard Dreyfuss
11. “I’ll Be Home For Christmas” feat. Ned Humphrey Hansen
Holiday Gear Guide

The Holiday Gear Guide 2016