Ryan Adams’ New Album Prisoner Coming Out in February

Ryan Adams 2015 1989
Photo credit: Julia Brokaw

Ryan Adams has unveiled details on his next album Prisoner, which will be out February 17 via Pax-Am/Blue Note.

Videos by American Songwriter

The twelve track effort features songs dating as far back as the week he released his self-titled 2014 effort. Adams also released album’s first track, “Do You Still Love Me?,” an American rocker with a deep sense of longing in its lyrics. A melancholy theme runs throughout the record and is a writing space Adams says he works comfortably in.

“I originally got into writing before I got into music, so a majority of that time, I really enjoyed much more gothic-type writing,”Adams told viral feline Lil Bub in an interview about the album. “Somewhere along the way, as I figured out who I was and how I connected, I realized I loved sad songs. I’ve accepted that’s kind of where I go when I write.”

Further supporting this theme, the 42-year-old singer-songwriter also said the album’s title is related to the mindset of being “a prisoner of your own desire”

The record, Adams’ first release since dropping his track-by-track cover album of Taylor Swift’s 1989, will be released on CD and limited edition red vinyl, as well as digitally.

Listen to “Do You Still Love Me?” and see Prisoner‘s full track list below.

Ryan Adams – Prisoner Track Listing

1.    Do You Still Love Me?
2.    Prisoner
3.    Doomsday
4.    Haunted House
5.    Shiver and Shake
6.    To Be Without You
7.    Anything I Say To You Now
8.    Breakdown
9.    Outbound Train
10.  Broken Anyway
11.  Tightrope
12.  We Disappear

Discover Concert Series with Becca Mancari, Brian Wright, Cordovas, Chip Greene and Spirko