Sun June Cling to the Past In New Song “John Prine”

Indie-pop outfit Sun June toe the line between nostalgia and reliance in their new single “John Prine.” Released today (September 6), the reflective ballad relays an uncertain beauty described through band member Laura Colwell’s sweeping vocals. 

Videos by American Songwriter

“‘John Prine’ is about appreciating something for the first time after it’s already over and struggling to let it go,” the band shares in a statement. “It’s also a shout-out to my father, who loves to say, ‘I’m not asleep, I’m just resting my eyes.’ The song was recorded in North Carolina by Alli Rogers and features Justin Morris (Sluice, Fust) on pedal steel. When Dan Duszynski mixed it, he morphed the pedal steel into something more haunting and more ghostly (and more sleepy). 

“We wanted the video to capture the feeling of coming down after a long night or a short visit with someone you miss, the kind of daze that’s a mix of longing and appreciation,” they add.

“John Prine” is one of two new pre-release singles from the Texas-based group’s upcoming record, Bad Dream Jaguar, due out October 20. Also unveiled today, “Easy Violence” follows the project’s infectious lead single, “Get Enough,” and offers another mysterious and engaging preview of their third studio album.

[RELATED: 5 Songs You Didn’t Know John Prine Wrote for Other Artists]

On November 2, Sun June will hit the road for an extensive headlining tour that stretches into early 2024. They’ll stop in over two dozen cities across the U.S. through the end of January 2024, with Slaughter Beach, Dog, and Runnner serving as support on select dates. You can find a complete list of upcoming concert dates and ticketing information by visiting Sun June’s official website

Watch the official music video for “John Prine” below:

Bad Dream Jaguar Track List:

1. “Eager”

2. “16 Riders”

3. “Mixed Bag”

4. “Moon Ahead”

5. “Ambitions”

6. “Easy Violence”

7. “John Prine”

8. “Sage”

9. “Washington Square”

10. “Get Enough”

11. “Texas”

12. “Lightning”

(Photo by Alex Winker, Courtesy of Grandstand Media)

Leave a Reply

Natalie Grant to Sing National Anthem at NFL Kickoff Game Thursday