The Highwaymen Live Box Set To Be Released, PBS To Air Documentary


Videos by American Songwriter

In 1985, four of the biggest forces in outlaw country – Johnny Cash, Willie Nelson, Waylon Jennings and Kris Kristofferson – formed The Highwaymen. The group achieved mythic status among country fans as the genre’s first true “supergroup.” To add to the history of this celebrated group, Columbia/Legacy is set to release The Highwaymen Live – American Outlaws, a 3 CD/1 DVD box set of live performances by the group. The release will hit shelves on May 20.

The Highwaymen Live – American Outlaws will include a two disc audio recording of the group’s 1990 concert at Nassau Coliseum in Uniondale, New York. The third audio disc consists of live performances from a variety of Farm Aid Festivals throughout the band’s ten-year tenure.

In addition, the CD features an unreleased recording of Bob Dylan’s “One Too Many Nights.” The alternate version of the song was originally covered by Cash and Jennings on their collaborative album Heroes (1986), but the most recent version also showcases vocals by Nelson and Kristofferson, which were added in 2014.

The box set also includes a DVD with the previously unreleased full-length footage of the aforementioned Nassau Coliseum performance.That concert film, The Highwaymen: Live at Nassau Coliseum, will be broadcast on PBS in June, as well.

Prior to that showing, the network is set to air a feature-documentary on The Highwaymen as part of the ongoing American Masters film series. The Highwaymen: Friends Till The End, will premiere on PBS on May 27. Watch the documentary trailer below.

The Highwaymen Live – American Outlaws Track List

AUDIO DISC 1 (Recorded Live at Nassau Coliseum)

1. Mystery Train

2. Highwayman

3. Mammas Don’t Let Your Babies Grow Up To Be Cowboys

4. Good Hearted Woman

5. Trouble Man

6. Amanda

7. There Ain’t No Good Chain Gang

8. Ring Of Fire

9. Folsom Prison Blues

10. Blue Eyes Crying In The Rain

11. Sunday Morning Coming Down

12. Help Me Make It Through The Night

13. The Best Of All Possible Worlds

14. Loving Her Was Easier (Than Anything I’ll Ever Do Again)

15. City Of New Orleans

16. Always On My Mind

17. Me And Bobby McGee

AUDIO DISC 2 (Recorded Live at Nassau Coliseum)

1. Silver Stallion

2. The Last Cowboy Song

3. Two Stories Wide

4. Living Legend

5. The Pilgrim: Chapter 33

6. They Killed Him

7. I Still Miss Someone

8. Ragged Old Flag

9. (Ghost) Riders In The Sky

10. Are You Sure Hank Done It This Way

11. Night Life

12. The King Is Gone (So Are You)

13. Desperados Waiting For A Train

14. Big River

15. A Boy Named Sue

16. Why Me

17. Luckenbach, Texas

18. On The Road Again


1. Mystery Train

2. Highwayman

3. The King Is Gone (So Are You)

4. I’ve Always Been Crazy

5. The Best Of All Possible Worlds

6. City Of New Orleans

7. Folsom Prison Blues

8. Intro/Highwayman

9. Shipwrecked In The Eighties

10. Desperados Waiting For A Train

11. One Too Many Mornings (Previously Unreleased)

Daily Discovery: Triggers & Slips, “Modern Age”