The National, Jenny Lewis, Courtney Barnett and More Cover the Grateful Dead

Day of the dead - covers

Videos by American Songwriter

Day of the Dead, a 59-track Grateful Dead tribute album curated by the National’s Aaron and Bryce Dessner, drops May 20 via 4AD.

Five covers from the record were released today, including songs by the National (“Morning Dew”), Courtney Barnett (“New Speedway Boogie”), Phosphorescent with Jenny Lewis and Friends (“Sugaree”), the War on Drugs (“Touch of Grey”) and Bruce Hornsby with DeYarmond Edison (“Black Muddy River”).

The tribute album also features Dead covers from artists like Wilco with Bob Weir, Mumford & Sons, Lucinda Williams, the Flaming Lips, Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon, Sharon Van Etten, Jim James, Bela Fleck, Kurt Vile and the Violators, Lucius, members of Grizzly Bear, and several more

There will be a live A Day of the Dead performance at Eaux Claires Festival (August 12-13) featuring The National, Jenny Lewis, Phosphorescent’s Matthew Houck, Lucius, Will Oldham, Sam Amidon, Richard Reed Parry, Matt Berninger, Justin Vernon, Ruban Neilson, and Grateful Dead touring member Bruce Hornsby, who all appear on the record.

The six-hour compilation will be released digitally, as a 5-CD set and as a limited edition vinyl boxed set. Check out the track list and listen to one of the cuts below.

Track Listing:

“Thunder” (Vol.1)

01. ‘Touch of Grey’ – The War on Drugs
02. ‘Sugaree’ – Phosphorescent, Jenny Lewis & Friends
03. ‘Candyman’ – Jim James & Friends
04. ‘Cassidy’ – Moses Sumney, Jenny Lewis & Friends
05. ‘Black Muddy River’ – Bruce Hornsby and DeYarmond Edison
06. ‘Loser’ – Ed Droste, Binki Shapiro & Friends
07. ‘Peggy-O’ – The National
08. ‘Box of Rain’ – Kurt Vile and the Violators (featuring J Mascis)
09. ‘Rubin and Cherise’ – Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy & Friends
10. ‘To Lay Me Down’ – Perfume Genius, Sharon Van Etten & Friends
11. ‘New Speedway Boogie’ – Courtney Barnett
12. ‘Friend of the Devil’ – Mumford & Sons
13. ‘Uncle John’s Band’ – Lucius
14. ‘Me and My Uncle’ – The Lone Bellow & Friends
15. ‘Mountains of the Moon’ – Lee Ranaldo, Lisa Hannigan & Friends
16. ‘Black Peter’ – Anohni and yMusic
17. ‘Garcia Counterpoint’ – Bryce Dessner
18. ‘Terrapin Station (Suite)’ – Daniel Rossen, Christopher Bear and The National (featuring Josh Kaufman, Conrad Doucette, So Percussion and Brooklyn Youth Chorus)
19. ‘Attics of My Life’ – Angel Olsen
20. ‘St. Stephen (live)’ – Wilco with Bob Weir

Lightning (Vol. 2)

01. ‘If I Had the World to Give’ – Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy
02. ‘Standing on the Moon’ – Phosphorescent & Friends
03. ‘Cumberland Blues’ – Charles Bradley and Menahan Street Band
04. ‘Ship of Fools’ – The Tallest Man On Earth & Friends
05. ‘Bird Song’ – Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy & Friends
06. ‘Morning Dew’ – The National
07. ‘Truckin’’ – Marijuana Deathsquads
08. ‘Dark Star’ – Cass McCombs, Joe Russo & Friends
09. ‘Nightfall of Diamonds’ – Nightfall of Diamonds
10. ‘Transitive Refraction Axis for John Oswald’ – Tim Hecker
11. ‘Going Down The Road Feelin’ Bad’ – Lucinda Williams & Friends
12. ‘Playing in the Band’ – Tunde Adebimpe, Lee Ranaldo & Friends
13. ‘Stella Blue’ – Local Natives
14. ‘Eyes of the World’ – Tal National
15. ‘Help on the Way’ – Bela Fleck
16. ‘Franklin’s Tower’ – Orchestra Baobab
17. ‘Till the Morning Comes’ – Luluc with Xylouris White
18. ‘Ripple’ – The Walkmen
19. ‘Brokedown Palace’ – Richard Reed Parry with Caroline Shaw and Little Scream (featuring Garth Hudson)

Sunshine (Vol. 3)

01. ‘Here Comes Sunshine’ – Real Estate
02. ‘Shakedown Street’ – Unknown Mortal Orchestra
03. ‘Brown-Eyed Women’ – Hiss Golden Messenger
04. ‘Jack-A-Roe’ – This Is the Kit
05. ‘High Time’ – Daniel Rossen and Christopher Bear
06. ‘Dire Wolf’ – The Lone Bellow & Friends
07. ‘Althea’ – Winston Marshall, Kodiak Blue and Shura
08. ‘Clementine Jam’ – Orchestra Baobab
09. ‘China Cat Sunflower’ -> I Know You Rider – Stephen Malkmus and the Jicks
10. ‘Easy Wind’ – Bill Callahan
11. ‘Wharf Rat’ – Ira Kaplan & Friends
12. ‘Estimated Prophet’ – The Rileys
13. ‘Drums -> Space’ – Man Forever, So Percussion and Oneida
14. ‘Cream Puff War’ – Fucked Up
15. ‘Dark Star’ – The Flaming Lips
16. ‘What’s Become of the Baby’ – s t a r g a z e
17. ‘King Solomon’s Marbles’- Vijay Iyer
18. ‘Rosemary’ – Mina Tindle & Friends
19. ‘And We Bid You Goodnight’ – Sam Amidon
20. ‘I Know You Rider (live)’ – The National with Bob Weir

Watch Sturgill Simpson Cover Nirvana’s “In Bloom”