Exclusive: Lainey Wilson Reflects on the “Pure Magic” of Recording With Wynonna Judd for Upcoming Tom Petty Tribute Album

Petty Country: A Country Music Celebration of Tom Petty will hit record store shelves and streaming platforms on May 31. The all-star tribute to Petty includes covers by Dierks Bentley, Luke Combs, Dolly Parton, Jamey Johnson, and more. Additionally, Lainey Wilson and Wynonna Judd team up for “Refugee” on the album.

Videos by American Songwriter

Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers released “Refugee” in 1980 as the second single from their album Damn the Torpedoes and it peaked at No. 15 on the Billboard Hot 100. Petty and Mike Campbell co-wrote the song. Campbell wrote the music before Petty penned the lyrics. It remains one of the band’s most popular songs and currently has more than 100 million streams.

[Lainey Wilson’s Country’s Cool Again Tour: Get Tickets While They Last]

In a recent interview with American Songwriter, Lainey Wilson recalled working with Wynonna Judd on the cover at Judd’s in-home studio.

Lainey Wilson Reflects on Recording with Wynonna Judd

“That was one of the coolest experiences of my life,” Wilson said when asked about recording with Judd. “My gosh, every time I tried to use that growl in my voice, I was trying to channel my inner Wynonna,” she added. “Everybody wants an inner Wynonna.”

[RELATED: Exclusive: Lainey Wilson Discusses Tractor Supply Co. Partnership, Singing with Dolly Parton, Returning to ‘Yellowstone’ & More]

Wilson also revealed that she traveled to Judd’s home to record the track in her in-home studio. “Getting to have that experience with her, in her studio, in her house, with her husband Cactus, it was wild,” she said. “We went into cut the vocals at the exact same time. We were just separated by a thin wall and we just got to riff off of each other. It was pure magic,” she added.

About Judd’s performance, Wilson said, “Everything she does, she gives 190 percent.”

Petty Country Tracklist

  1. “I Should Have Known It” – Chris Stapleton
  2. “Wildflowers” – Thomas Rhett
  3. “Runnin’ Down a Dream” – Luke Combs
  4. “Southern Accents” – Dolly Parton
  5. “Here Comes My Girl” – Justin Moore
  6. “American Girl” – Dierks Bentley
  7. “Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around” – Lady A
  8. “I Forgive It All” – Jamey Johnson
  9. “I Won’t Back Down” – Brothers Osborne
  10. “Refugee” – Wynonna Judd & Lainey Wilson
  11. “Angel Dream #2” – Willie Nelson and Lukas Nelson
  12. “Learning to Fly” – Eli Young Band
  13. “Breakdown” – Ryan Hurd featuring Carly Pearce
  14. “Yer So Bad” – Steve Earle
  15. “Ways to Be Wicked” – Margo Price and Mike Campbell
  16. “Mary Jane’s Last Dance” – Midland
  17. “Free Fallin’” – The Cadillac Three featuring Breland
  18. “I Need To Know” – Marty Stuart And His Fabulous Superlatives
  19. “Don’t Come Around Here No More” – Rhiannon Giddens featuring Benmont Tench
  20. “You Wreck Me” – George Strait

Featured Image by Hubert Vestil/Getty Images

If you purchase through links on our site we may earn an affiliate commission.

Leave a Reply

Remember When: British New Romantic Band ABC Made a Film with Lisa Vanderpump