Jeff Lynne, Gloria Estefan, Snoop Dogg Among 2023 Songwriters Hall of Fame Inductees

Sade Adu (Sade), Snoop Dogg, Jeff Lynne, and Gloria Estefan are among the latest inductees into the Songwriters Hall of Fame. The artists will be honored during the 52nd Annual Induction and Awards Gala at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City on June 15.

Videos by American Songwriter

Additional inductees include Glen Ballard, Calvin Broadus Jr., Liz Rose, and Teddy Riley.

“The music industry does not exist without songwriters delivering great songs first,” said musician and producer Nile Rodgers, chairman of the Songwriters Hall of Fame, in a statement. “Without them there is no recorded music, no concert business, no merch—nothing. It all starts with the song and the songwriter.”

Rodgers added, “We are therefore very proud that we are continually recognizing some of the culturally most important songwriters of all time and that the 2023 slate represents not just iconic songs but also diversity and unity across genres, ethnicity and gender, songwriters who have enriched our lives and, in their time, literally transformed music and the lives of billions of listeners all over the world.”

Among the songwriters being inducted this year are those who have written hits such as Michael Jackson’s 1988 hit “Man in the Mirror,” (Ballard), Sade with her own “Smooth Operator,” Estefan’s “Rhythm Is Gonna Get You” with Miami Sound Machine, and “Drop It Like It’s Hot” by Snoop Dogg. 

The 2023 induction of Snoop Dogg also marks the fifth consecutive year in which a hip-hop or rap songwriter has been inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame. In 2022, Pharrell Williams of The Neptunes was inducted. In previous years, Chad Hugo, Missy Elliott, Jermaine Duper, and Jay-Z were also inducted.

Mariah Carey, Dave Stewart and Annie Lennox of Eurythmics, Steve Miller, and the Isley Brothers were among the latest inductees in 2022.

Photo: Alexander Tamargo/Getty Images for E11EVEN

Leave a Reply

Tank and the Bangas Announce Spring Headline Tour Dates